Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Changed Theme - Customers Using Old Bookmarked URL

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sash, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. Sash

    Sash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
  2. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    quite a few ways I would think... couldn't you use an .htaccess file, or an alias, or even something in apache's conf file?

    It might be better to just replace the old index with something asking them to 'Click Here' and update their bookmarks though.
     
  3. Sash

    Sash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Tried each of those, no luck. The server refuses to see files outside of the /frontend/x3 path no matter what I do.

    Mike
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,585
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Might be easiest to contact all users and tell them to now use theirdomain.com/cpanel and theirdomain.com/webmail
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,569
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If there bookmarks are direct to the ports, then .htaccess and apache configurations won't work as the request is handled by cPanel, not Apache. One possible, untested, workaround is to create a symlink from x3 to oldtheme

    For example:
    Code:
    ln -s /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x3 /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/oldtheme
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Sash

    Sash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Using a sym link doesn't work. Cpanel seems to only see the "x3" directory, ignorng everything else in the frontend directory.

    Mike
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice