The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing account's domain?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Omar, Oct 10, 2002.

  1. Omar

    Omar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    A customer requires that their domain name on their account be changed, without having to re-upload their files or change their passwords.

    Will going to &Modify Account& and just changing the domain name there do this correctly?

    Thanks

    - Omar
     
  2. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I wouldn't do that. I'd just backup all their files, terminate the account (wait for WHM to finish), recreate the account with a different domain name (wait for WHM to finish), then put the files you backed up back. Make sure to check if they have databases and grab all their forwarders too.
     
  3. Omar

    Omar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What's the best way to backup all the files, dbs and other stuff?

    - Omar
     
  4. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    With root access you could just tar it up and store it in a directory other than the user's until after things are removed and then added once more.
     
  5. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's considerably pain-free and safe to change the domain name from WHM. There's still no harm in backing up the client's files tho if you want to. What can't be done at this time is changing the user name.

    WHM doesn't delete any files in the www directory. And it doesn't touch the databases as dbs operate on the user name basis, not domain name.

    Here's an actual rundown of what WHM does during the change-over:

    Change domain for userX:

    Modifing httpd.conf
    Modifing proftpd.conf
    Modifing domainaliases
    Modifing valiases
    Adding dns entry
    ndc: reload command successful

    Created DNS entry for domain.net
    Adding localdomains entry
    Modifing vfilters
    Setting up frontpage
    Scanning httpd.conf..X...X...X...X....X..X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...X...
    x - creating lock directory
    x - extracting deptodoc.btr (binary)
    x - extracting doctodep.btr (binary)
    x - extracting linkinfo.btr (binary)
    Note: Local version of Apache must use the FrontPage Apache patch.
    Starting install, port: www.domain.net.

    Created: 06 Jun 2001 20:49:48 -0000
    Version: 5.0.2.2623
    Server extensions already installed on port www.domain.net.
    Reverting to upgrade.

    Starting upgrade, port: www.domain.net.

    Created: 06 Jun 2001 20:49:48 -0000
    Version: 5.0.2.2623
    Chowning Content in service /.
    Port www.domain.net: Upgrade completed.
    Upgraded Version: 5.0.2.2623.

    Starting chown, port: 80, web: &/&.

    DocumentRoot: &/home/username/public_html&
    Setting Password
    Restarting proftpd
    Restarting httpd
    BWLIMIT=4194304000
    DNS=domain.net
    LANG=english
    MAXFTP=5
    MAXLST=5
    MAXPOP=5
    MAXSQL=5
    MAXSUB=5
    OWNER=root
    PLAN=default
    RS=default
     
  6. BJMG

    BJMG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If you opt to delete the account and re-set it up and you use dedicated IP for each customer, I suggest you also jot down the IP address and assign it to the new domain. This will avoid any possible lag time in the DNS updates.
     
Loading...

Share This Page