The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing cPanel URL?

Discussion in 'Security' started by 117, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. 117

    117 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is it possible to change the cPanel URL from domain.com/cpanel to increase security?
    Is it possible to change the port numbers too?
     
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is no way to change the port numbers for cPanel, the WebHost Manager or Webmail. The port numbers are hard-coded into cPanel and there is no configuration option that allows them to be changed.

    Even if you edit the httpd.conf file and change the ScriptAlias directives that cause /cpanel, /webmail and /whm to work, they will still be accessible via ports 2082/2083, 2095/2096, and 2086/2087, respectively.
     
  3. 117

    117 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How would I go about changing the httpd.conf file?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually, you may do better by going into your WHM (if you're on version 11.28 or later) and in the Security Center click on Configure Security Policies. Enable "Limit logins to verified IP Addresses" and then set your security questions. This way compromised credentials are insufficient to gain access to an account.

    Also, I recommend using SSL rather than plain-text HTTP to reduce the possibility of credentials becoming compromised. You can actually force this via the Redirection section of Tweak Settings.
     
Loading...

Share This Page