Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Changing disk quota for all accounts on a server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by morteza, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. morteza

    morteza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I was trying to change the disk quota massively for all accounts, setting them all to let's say 200,000MB. Something simple like this can generate a file like /etc/quota.conf, saved as /etc/newquota.conf:

    # cd /etc; cat /etc/trueuserdomains |awk '{print $2}'|sort| while read u; do echo "$u=200000" >> newquota.conf; chmod 600 newquota.conf; done

    But apparently modifying /etc/quota.conf does not actually change the quota as I checked it from WHM. before running the above, I changed some of /etc/quota.conf entries manually, but it's not shown on WHM. What else should be done to change the quota other than modifying /etc/quota.conf? I appreciate the suggestions or instructions to change the quota for all accounts.
     
  2. bhd

    bhd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    JNB ZA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Unless you have each account with a different or no package assigned, why not just change the disk quota in the assigned package(s)?
     
  3. morteza

    morteza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Yes that's the point; these accounts are moved from a different platform and have no packages identified by cPanel. On the other hand the accounts had different plans and I cannot change them all to one package on cPanel.
     
  4. morteza

    morteza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Thanks to Joshua @ cPanel support, the quota can be changed in shell with /scripts/editquota , something like this will change it to 200000MB for all accounts:

    cat /etc/trueuserdomains |awk '{print $2}'|while read u; do /scripts/editquota $u 200000M ; done
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice