The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

changing from apache to lighttpd

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by steve51184, Dec 4, 2006.

  1. steve51184

    steve51184 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi i have a fedora core 4 box with an amd 1800+ (1.5ghz) and 1gb ram server

    i have whm/cpanel

    "WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R79
    Fedora i686 - WHM X v3.1.0"

    with apache 1.3.37 (leet?? lol) but i want to use lighttpd w/ fast-cgi

    how do i got about doing that?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You'd have to disable httpd in WHM > Service Manager and then configure the alternative daemon entirely by hand and disable those parts of the cPanel UI that deal with modifying apache (e.g. parking domains, addon domains, etc) since none of them will work and neither will the new user setups for domains in the web server.
     
  3. jnagro

    jnagro Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    lighttpd unfortunately isnt a mature webserver yet. you'll lack the ability to read .htaccess files for example... users wont be able to configure applications on their own (keep in mind a lot of web software uses .htaccess for things like rewrites). there are a lot of other reasons why you probably should stick with apache in a multi-user environment like this, but i recommend you take a look through the lighttpd documentation to get a feeling for it all. if you manage the whole config thats one story, but cpanel is designed for allow the users to manage the details of their own accounts, etc, hence the control panel (and not just 1 big support request system where you actually change the configs)

    you *might* be able to launch lighttpd on a seperate port *just* for the cgi of particular hand-configured hosts/url's using apache's proxy stuff to lighttpd. In converse you could force apache onto a funny port and simply have lighttpd proxy to the apache on the back end (running on a different port) but that sorta defeats the purpose
     
  4. steve51184

    steve51184 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok well thank you both for your reply :)

    you've both kinda scared me off a little hehe

    i'll stick with apache but is apache 1 or 2 better? (or is that kinda like php4 vs php5?)

    and can you tell me of a good guide to a least config/tweak apache?
     
  5. tom_taylor

    tom_taylor Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    You could use LightTPD or Nginx as a backend proxy which would serve your files.

    Just need a way in which cpanel can setup the config automatic when creating accounts, subdomains etc OR when you send the requests via apache's proxy mod through to one of the feather weight servers, it will send the document root. That way only apache's config would ever be updated!

    Proxying them together is easy, its just making this solution work perfect!
     
Loading...

Share This Page