Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Changing hostname error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sebastian Sivori, Jan 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Sebastian Sivori

    Sebastian Sivori Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Argemtina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Goodnight !!

    I need to change the name of my host name but when I want to do it

    tells me:

    The domain "host.mydomain.com" is already owned by the user "nobody". The system can not set the hostname to a domain owned by a user because all local email would be directed to the "nobody" account.

    How do I solve it?

    Thank you so much
     
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,
    Can you pleaes try to enable park subdomains setting through WHM.
    Login to WHM >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings >> Allow users to park subdomains of the server's hostname
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Sebastian Sivori

    Sebastian Sivori Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Argemtina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you pleaes try to enable park subdomains setting through WHM.
    Login to WHM >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings >> Allow users to park subdomains of the server's hostname

    What I want is to rename my hostname

    But when I want to do it, he tells me

    The domain "host.mydomain.com" is already owned by the user "nobody". The system can not set the hostname to a domain owned by a user because all local email would be directed to the "nobody" account.

    How can I remove from WHM the property of the user nobody !!
     
  4. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,961
    Likes Received:
    1,821
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Check to see if an entry for this hostname already exists in the following file:

    Code:
    /var/cpanel/users/nobody
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice