The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing Main IP on a Trial License

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Deker, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. Deker

    Deker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hello,

    I'm using trial version on my new server.
    Main IP of my server is blocked by gmail and now I'm planning to change the main IP of the server.
    May it cause any downtime on my server? or make any problem with my cpanel?
    Should I purchase my cpanel license with the new IP?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,476
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You should contact cPanel directly about this: csATcpanel.net :)
     
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Of note, you can change the outgoing gateway IP used by email without changing the main server IP. If you select "Reference /etc/mailips for outgoing SMTP connections" in WHM > Exim Configuration Editor and "Save" the area, then add the following into /etc/mailips:

    Code:
    *: newIP#
    Replace newIP# with the new IP address. At that point, email sent from the server will use the new IP for routing emails in place of the main IP. As such, if the only reason you are changing the main IP has to do with exim routing, I would suggest doing the above rather than changing the main IP.
     
  4. Deker

    Deker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I've changed the main IP address, now my server is totaly down.

    I changed the IP in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

    and then restarted the network

    Did I missed something?
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have physical access to the box, I'd suggest asking your datacenter, NOC or provider for assistance.

    I had originally suggested not to change the main IP but just modify the IP exim uses. That would have been a lot easier.
     
  6. Deker

    Deker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I didn't see your post.
    I asked your cs and they have transferred my trial license over to new IP
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Unfortunately, you'll have to ask your datacenter or NOC for help if you cannot get the new IP to function, since someone who can physically look at the box would need to help on that issue.
     
  8. Deker

    Deker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I've changed the IP to the old one. Now all webstites are UP and running properly.
    But since cpanel CS has transferred my license to the new IP, cpanel is not accessible now and when trying to log in, it will be rediretcted to cPanel License Activation Page.
    I've sent a request to CS and asked them to change my IP back to the old one 4-5 hours ago. but received no reply yet.
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Customer service wouldn't have been opened at that time of day. They are open from 6am to 6pm Central time Monday-Friday, and 6am to 4pm Central time on Saturday and Sunday. Based on the timestamp for your forum post, the email was sent around 11pm or midnight Central time when they were closed.
     
  10. Deker

    Deker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I went through your instruction, but nothing has changed!
    /etc/mailips was empty, is it normal?
    Is it necessary to put *: before IP ?


     
  11. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it is necessary to put *: newIP# in the file. If you do not use the exact syntax noted, it will not work properly. Again, please replace newIP# with the IP number in question.

    If you want us to double check what you've put after you properly edit the file /etc/mailips, please feel free to post what you have in it at that point.
     
  12. Deker

    Deker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I double checked the instruction, I went through the instruction step by step and did exactly what you said.
    I Put *: IP# in /etc/mailips
    I see you didn't put any space before newIP# in your last post. but you put a space in the instruction. which one is correct? with space or without space?
     
  13. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I did put a space in my post above. If you copy and paste *: newIP# from above, you will see it has a space. The space must be there after the colon.

    I tested this after I made the change on my machine before providing the details to you, and accounts were sending from the dedicated IP in place of the main server IP. I cannot say why it isn't working for you, but you are welcome to open up a ticket if you continue to be unable to get it to work.

    The method to open a ticket would be WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature.
     
  14. Deker

    Deker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Okay
    Thanks anyway :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page