The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing Nameserver IP's without Downtime

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ddeans, Mar 8, 2004.

  1. ddeans

    ddeans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    Need some IP advice here.

    I've got a question that I have searched but could not find an exact answer on it.

    This is the issue. I have a box with hosting company A. My download speeds on this box are about 36k/second when no-one else is using it. The only thing the Hosting company can do is move the box to a new rack with new IP's to speed up the download. But this would mean that I would have to wait for the IP's to propagate all over again. 3 days downtime is not an option here.

    Now I also have a box with hosting company B. In a different datacenter. This server is almost full but has enough room to store the users files on my first box, for a few days. Can I copy all the data from box 1 to box 2 and then update the nameservers at the registrar to reflect the new Ip's, and the customers not know that they moved to a different server?

    So basicially, can I just change the NameServer Ip's without the customer having to do anything and the site's then point to box 2, while box 1 is being moved all over the place?

    Thanks!
     
    #1 ddeans, Mar 8, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2004
  2. ddeans

    ddeans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    Any one have an idea?
     
  3. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    1. Move the customers from A to B
    2. Change A's zone files to point to B's ip
    3. Setup the nameservers that where on B on A
    4. Wait for propagation.

    You can do the same but the other way around when you get server A back up.

    My advise, move server A to another provider, this provider is clearly screwing there clients.
     
  4. kickback

    kickback Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We had to do this and it works your users wont even know about the change.
     
  5. ddeans

    ddeans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    Okay Thanks!
     
  6. ddeans

    ddeans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    How do I do this?

     
  7. PbG

    PbG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WHM edit DNS Zone. Or edit the zones from the command line in /var/named/

    I would also shorten the TTL on all the zones then wait till the previous TTL expires before implementing the above changes. I also believe any customers that have the IP's defined along with the nameservers at their registrar will need to be notified. If they just have the nameservers listed this will/should work fine.


     
Loading...

Share This Page