Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Changing nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Final-Solution, Nov 29, 2002.

  1. Final-Solution

    Final-Solution Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I got two nameservers set up in the WHM settings, but I cant see where to change the IPs since I've had to move the server, i see buttons that say 'Assign IP address' and 'Add an A entry for this domain' but it says it already has an IP address and wont let me change it =-0 i'm a total newbie so any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
     
  2. pkuk

    pkuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Try looking at your registrar for the domain part of the name server, most offer a facility to modify the IPs assigned to your nameservers there.
     
  3. Final-Solution

    Final-Solution Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    thanks :)

    I can change the IPs with the registrar, but don't i need to change them in WHM first? Under Server Setup /& Edit Setup I have the primary and secondary nameservers already set up from before, but when I click 'Assign IP Address' it says, &Sorry, the nameserver ns1.website.com already has the ip 209.51.241.120 assigned to it. & . . don't I need to change the IP to the new ones there before I change it with the registrar?

    Thanks for suggestions :)
     
  4. pkuk

    pkuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Yes, you will need to update the ip at the registrar first, whm will then update once the new ip has propagated, which can take a few days...
     
  5. Final-Solution

    Final-Solution Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    thanks

    thanks for the help! it did the trick . . after changing with the registrar it shows up in WHM :) woohoo! that was easy enough :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice