The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Changing OS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jeffleeismyhero, Nov 21, 2007.

  1. jeffleeismyhero

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am looking to replace Fedora Core 5 with CentOS and I would like to make it as seamless as possible. I will be keeping the same server so all of the addresses will remain the same.

    Is it possible to restore a full backup and have ALL server settings reapply? I would like to take my backup, upload it to the fresh OS install, import it, and be back at the point I was before the OS switch.

    Please let me know your thoughts on this. I am simply trying to minimize downtime as much as possible, and do not want to re-apply all of the settings for the machine.

    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-C18033
    FEDORA 5 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  2. c0mr4de

    c0mr4de Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just create a /home partiion, and you won't lose any data!
     
  3. jeffleeismyhero

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm not worried about losing data as much as I am worried about time. I don't want to spend a day reapplying all of the settings and configurations for cPanel that I have on my current OS. The data will be restored with the backup, I just want to know if the settings for the server (not each account) will be as well.
     
  4. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Nope... you'll be spending some time reinstalling extra software, reconfiguring things, etc.

    Complete backups basically give you enough info to recreate your user accounts... server settings aren't included.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Some server settings are included, but anything server-specific like hostname and IP would not be included.
     
Loading...

Share This Page