The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

changing packages...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 4u123, Feb 1, 2006.

  1. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi,

    Is there still no way to change the packages without resetting all the users to the package defaults ?

    Its very anoyying!
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Yes, you can edit the packages directly in /var/cpanel/packages/ and accounts using them won't be reset to the new values.
     
  3. vikins

    vikins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Where is cPanel on this issue now?

    I have about 10 accounts using an existing package. I want to associated a new feature list with this package and ultimately each of these 10 accounts. To do this I will edit the existing package and choose the new feature list.

    Some of my accounts using this package have had various allotments changed by hand. So what happens to these changed allotments when I hit save after editing the package? Is it going to reset these to the package defaults? If so, how do I get around it?

    All I want to update is the feature list associated with these 10 accounts and any new accounts setup using this package. This must be possible without resetting all of these accounts back to the package defaults, right?

    Advice would be appreciated, thank you.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The ability to simply modify a package and upon modification have the updated package settings apply to all accounts is by design.

    If you desire to have specific accounts have different settings, it would be advisable to create different packages for those accounts.
     
  5. vikins

    vikins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    That isn't really a reasonable solution, especially if this were 100 instead of just 10 accounts. Isn't there some process that would allow a new feature list to be associated with specific accounts and then I can edit the package by hand to avoid it being applied to every account?

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page