The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

changing the CNAME record

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by .Darkman, Dec 12, 2006.

  1. .Darkman

    .Darkman Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello all,
    I use google apps for your domain.
    And i'd like to change the CNAME record of mail.templora.com to ghs.google.com
    How should i do this in cPanel ?


    thanks,
     
  2. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't you mean MX record?
     
  3. .Darkman

    .Darkman Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No.
    It is CNAME record.
     
  4. mctDarren

    mctDarren Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have access to WHM as root you can edit it under DNS options, look for Edit DNS Zone. If not you will have to contact your host to do that for you.
     
  5. kdarray

    kdarray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Washington
    hi

    i thank you enough for what you do for cpanel. i had a mini-stroke in july and not able to work. i know $10 isn't enough but it counts. my heartfelt thanks
     
  6. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The reason I ask is because mail doesn't work with CNAME records!

    Mail operates using MX records!

    In fact, the RFC strictly prohibits the use of CNAME with mail servers.

    So if you are talking about email in any fashion (and it looks like you are)
    then you are working with the wrong DNS record entry!

    Regardless ...

    Editing the zone is the same in either case and has to either be done
    from WHM or manually from the shell.

    From WHM: Go to "Edit DNS Zone" under "DNS Functions"

    From SSH: Open the file /var/named/domain.db
    (where 'domain' is your domain name)


    If you don't have either WHM or root SSH access then you will need to contact
    your hosting provider to have them update this item for you.
     
  7. mctDarren

    mctDarren Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My assumption is that they have their A record pointing to mail.templora.com and www as a CNAME, so they need to change that. MX was never mentioned...?
     
  8. mathew_p_a

    mathew_p_a Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    mx

    If you are going to point the mx to google servers, you may want to remove the domains from localdomains and add it to remotedomains. You may want to have root access for this.
     
  9. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Read the poster's original post ....

    The poster is obviously dealing with a mail server address which can only
    be "A" records for resolution and "MX" records for mail delivery designation.

    Given that it appears they are trying to send the mail for the domain
    to a different mail server then the appropriate record to update is "MX"
     
Loading...

Share This Page