The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

charset new WHM installation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tmdesigner, Feb 24, 2017.

  1. tmdesigner

    tmdesigner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    I just got new server with fresh WHM installation. I've ran the transfer tool to migrate the accounts from the old server. I also have included the server configurations.

    In the new server, I see some websites with charset issue. However, the same website in the old server works perfectly.

    I've tried to change the charset in the httpd.conf file accordion to this thread but When I 've tried to restart the apache and error occurs and it doesn't seem to be restarted

    # service httpd restart
    AH00548: NameVirtualHost has no effect and will be removed in the next release /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:8558

    Cpanel Installed Version: 62.0.15


    So, How would I fix this?
    Tks.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,173
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you elaborate on the specific changes you made?

    Thank you.
     
  3. tmdesigner

    tmdesigner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, I have added
    AddDefaultCharset utf-8
    in the hppd.conf file, and got the erro I described before.
    Dunno whether I'm right. I just want to understand why my old server works well and the new on doesn't regarding to the charset configuration.

    Thank you
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,173
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The referenced thread is referring to a change in the /etc/my.cnf file, as opposed to the httpd.conf file. Also, note that changing the default MySQL character set for the server only affects new databases created after the change. Existing databases are not affected unless you alter their character sets. You can review MySQL documentation on this topic for more information on how this works:

    MySQL :: MySQL 5.6 Reference Manual :: 10.5 Character Set Configuration
    MySQL :: MySQL 5.6 Reference Manual :: 10.1.3.3 Database Character Set and Collation

    MariaDB also provides a useful document if you plan to switch to MariaDB in the future:

    Setting Character Sets and Collations

    Thank you.
     
  5. tmdesigner

    tmdesigner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you, I could changed the mysql default charset. But the sites are still with the charset issue. I've noticed that the problem is static text. Curiously, those sites in the old server work fine, but not the new one.

    Any other clue?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,173
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The default character set is only for new databases. You'd have to follow the instructions on the links from my previous post if you wanted to change the character set on the existing databases.

    Thank you.
     
  7. tmdesigner

    tmdesigner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, I think I was not so clear!
    The issue is in the text HTML not texts that come from the database. In other words, they are static text.
    What I have noticed is, my old server works fine, the new one doesn't.
    I have used the transfer tool to migrate accounts. Does this method change the file charset?
    I had to download the file save again as a UTF-8 and then upload to the server. Problem solved doing this.

    However, I would like to know why the transfer tool has changed the files charset.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,173
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  9. tmdesigner

    tmdesigner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I can open a support ticket due to the fact that my licence is from cPanel partner.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,173
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You could open a support ticket with your license provider first to see if that can take a closer look. Or, try the solution referenced on the following post:

    Can't get UTF-8 as default charset

    Change "ISO-8859-1" with the character set of your preference.

    Thank you.
     
  11. tmdesigner

    tmdesigner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Didn't work! Anyway, I have download the files, save it as a utf-8 and then uploaded and it worked.
    Not sure why during the migration it got wrong!
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,173
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket if you'd like us to take a closer look at both the source and destination server to see what happened.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page