Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

check domain names

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ggalan, Jul 16, 2011.

  1. ggalan

    ggalan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    i am trying to create a search and check for available domain names like most ISP's offer
    ex : /http://www.2020proj.com/media/images/computer/checkDomainNames.JPG
    where in the API should i start looking? not sure where to begin
    thank you
     
  2. ggalan

    ggalan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    i was told that this was possible in WHM, is that true?
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Check domain names on the server, or check a domain to see if its registered or available? I'm not aware of any tool build into cPanel for this sort of thing. I would think most hosts use billing software like WHMCS which has these sorts of features in them.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. ggalan

    ggalan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    thank you for the reply, i thought that WHM was part of cpanel. is WHMCS and WHM different?

    check a domain to see if its registered is what im looking for
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. ggalan

    ggalan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    then what does WHM do?

    nm, found this:
    WHM and cPanel is not the same type of software as WHMCS.
    WHMCS is a billing software. You can manage orders, clients and products here.
    WHM and cPanel is software to let you manage a web site and web server. Check it out here.
    WHMCS interacts with WHM to create accounts when a customer pays up, suspends it if they don't etc.


    Cpanel and WHM.. manage the "machine" and the programs that run in it.
    WHMCS.. manage the clients bills and orders.

    correct?
     
    #6 ggalan, Jul 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is basically correct, yes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. ggalan

    ggalan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    thanks again : )
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice