The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[check_cpanel_rpms] Altered RPMs found on host - need help please

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gangsta1, Mar 19, 2013.

  1. gangsta1

    gangsta1 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,

    I received this email and need help to solve please:

    [check_cpanel_rpms] Altered RPMs found on host

    Problems were detected with cPanel-provided files which are RPM controlled.
    If you did not make these changes intentionally, you can correct them by running:

    > /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix

    The following RPMs are found to be altered from their original install state:
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/imap-login
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/pop3-login
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/ssl-build-param
     
  2. NetCaptive

    NetCaptive Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the exact same error. Just showed up today.
     
  3. NetCaptive

    NetCaptive Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Possibly related, my /tmp was full. I think my 512mb /tmp filled up running the update. I cleared it out and ran /scripts/upcp then /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms and i'm not getting the error anymore.
     
  4. bioxnet

    bioxnet Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, i just got an email like that:

    Problems were detected with cPanel-provided files which are RPM controlled.
    If you did not make these changes intentionally, you can correct them by running:

    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix

    The following RPMs are found to be altered from their original install state:
    courier-imap,4.11.0,1.cp1136,/usr/lib/courier-imap/bin/couriertls

    thanks for your avice.
     
  5. mpkapadia

    mpkapadia Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got this same mail today with following reported rpms
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/imap-login
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/pop3-login
    dovecot,1.2.17,2.cp1136,/usr/libexec/dovecot/ssl-build-param

    THere was no issue on my /tmp folder. Wanted to know what caused this and if its actually recommended to run the script that cpanel is suggesting on the email.

    Can a tech from CP throw some light . Many users getting same error at same time cannot be coincidence.
     
  6. grodde

    grodde Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same email message here - would be nice to have a Cpanel rep. shed some light on this..
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Often this is caused by the prelinking utility. Prelinking, when installed and enabled, optimizes binaries. This optimization often happens after an RPM updates. The optimization causes binaries to no longer match when an RPM provides, which in turn causes check_cpanel_rpms to think the RPM needs reinstalled.

    We are working on a solution that should be in the next update.
     
  8. darrencain

    darrencain Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England ( EU )
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I got this email, then i ran the

    > /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix


    Now i get error 500 on any site what requires a Sql database to run.

    How can i fix this ?


    ----- UPDATE -

    Okey for anyone else who got an error 500 then follow this to fix it.
    It worked for me.


    1. Login to your WHM

    2. Goto: Home »Software »MySQL Upgrade

    3. Re-install the one you was on either ( MySQL 5.0, MySQL 5.1 or MySQL 5.5 )

    In my case MySQL 5.5


    4. follow the on screen instructions.
     
    #8 darrencain, Mar 23, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page