The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

checksum file '/home/.cpan/sources/authors/id/D/DC/DCONWAY/CHECKSUMS' broken

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by thehostinghut, Nov 10, 2006.

  1. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What is this? This is on a new cPanel install.

    Not sure if it is the cause of all my issues but this cPanel install is worthless as it will not do anything.

    I have a support ticket open about it.

    cPanel ID# 163301
     
  2. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Plus I get this:

    When trying to read that file I expected to get a hash reference
    for further processing, but got garbage instead.
    Proceed nonetheless? [no]
    Aborted.

    expect: spawn id exp3 not open
    while executing
    "expect -nobrace {*perlmod--Install done*} {
    exit
    } {*Apache source not found*} {
    send "q\r"
    } {*Which OpenSSL build path*} {
    send "/usr\r..."
    invoked from within
    "expect {
    "*perlmod--Install done*" {
    exit
    }
    "*Apache source not found*" {
    send "q\r"
    }
    "*Which OpenSSL build path*" {
    send "/usr\r"..."
    ("while" body line 2)
    invoked from within
    "while {1} {
    expect {
    "*perlmod--Install done*" {
    exit
    }
    "*Apache source not found*" {
    send "q\r"
    }
    "*Which OpenSSL build path*" {
    ..."
    (file "/scripts/expectperlinstaller" line 9)
    GD installed ok
    initfpsuexec: using apache 1.x support
    Fetching http://layer2.cpanel.net/installer/ (0)....@69.90.250.35......connected......receiving...27%...54%...81%...100%......Done
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!cPanel Auto Heal 2.4 Running !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Processing heal of https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=171178
    Waiting for yum to finish....Could not find update match for bind-libs
     
  3. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    And this:

    Can't locate File/Tail.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /usr/local/cpanel /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.7/i686-linux /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.7 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.7/i686-linux /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.7 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.5 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.4 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.3 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.2 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.1 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.0 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl .) at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/cpbandwd line 12.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/cpbandwd line 12.
     
    #3 thehostinghut, Nov 10, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2006
  4. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Opened a ticket about this with cPanel 2 days ago. I was told to install Compress::Zlib, which did nothing.

    To fix:

    1. rm -f /home/.cpan/sources/authors/id/D/DC/DCONWAY/CHECKSUMS
    2. /scripts/realperlinstaller File::Tail
    3. /scripts/realperlinstaller Class::Std
    4. Is cppop running? If not (and it wasn't on 2 new installs I did):
    /scripts/restartsrv_cppop

    * Note: this will not start cppop at all. It will start the other pop daemon, however.

    I tried telling them their installer was screwed up, but after waiting 3 hours for a response I closed the ticket. I reopened it for a short time then re closed it again after just deciding to clean up their broken installer myself because I had customers waiting.

    I'm still not sure they realize their installer is broken.
     
  5. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well that did not help.

    Warning: checksum file '/home/.cpan/sources/authors/id/D/DC/DCONWAY/CHECKSUMS' broken.

    When trying to read that file I expected to get a hash reference
    for further processing, but got garbage instead.
    Proceed nonetheless? [no]
    Aborted.

    expect: spawn id exp3 not open
    while executing
    "expect -nobrace {*perlmod--Install done*} {
    exit
    } {*Apache source not found*} {
    send "q\r"
    } {*Which OpenSSL build path*} {
    send "/usr\r..."
    invoked from within
    "expect {
    "*perlmod--Install done*" {
    exit
    }
    "*Apache source not found*" {
    send "q\r"
    }
    "*Which OpenSSL build path*" {
    send "/usr\r"..."
    ("while" body line 2)
    invoked from within
    "while {1} {
    expect {
    "*perlmod--Install done*" {
    exit
    }
    "*Apache source not found*" {
    send "q\r"
    }
    "*Which OpenSSL build path*" {
    ..."
    (file "/scripts/expectperlinstaller" line 9)
    GD installed ok
    initfpsuexec: using apache 1.x support
    Fetching http://layer2.cpanel.net/installer/ (0)....@69.90.250.35......connected......receiving...27%...54%...81%...100%......Done
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!cPanel Auto Heal 2.4 Running !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Processing heal of https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=171178
    Waiting for yum to finish....Could not find update match for bind-libs


    That is what I just got after doing what you suggested.

    Why is there a bind-libs issue still? This should have been fixed a long time ago.

    Oh well
     
  6. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now I'm hearing that modsec installs are failing (using cPanel's Addon Modules modsec installer) due to Tie::IxHash missing.

    I'd be curious to know what cPanel has said about this issue in the ticket you have opened with them if you wouldn't mind updating us.
     
  7. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well here is one response:

    I installed the Tie::IxHash Perl module which should fix that issue. Please let me know how things are working.

    Then I ran upcp again and I still got the error.

    I told them this and this is what they replied with:

    Greetings,

    I just ran /scripts/upcp --force and monitored the entire output. No further errors were printed while running this.

    Well so I went and done it myself in WHM and in shell and I still get the error. Heck I can't even use the transfer account function.

    I am just glad that this is not a production box or needed it for one. I would be screwed.

    So really I have not gotten a resolve to the problem.
     
  8. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here was their last reply:

    Hello,

    There was a problem with the CHECKSUMS file which was causing a Perl module not
    to get installed. I downloaded the CHECKSUMS file from a different CPAN mirror and was able to get all the Perl modules installed
    successfully as called by /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules. Please let
    me know how things are working. I have brought this problem to the attention of the developer's.


    Thank you.


    I have not tested this as of yet but will let you know if this truly fixed the problem.
     
  9. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the update. As I mentioned in my ticket with cPanel, I realize they don't control CPAN, but I fail to understand why, if their installer tries to install $module, it doesn't check to see if $module was actually installed, and perhaps keep a log of what failed for the user to see. I guess /var/cpanel/updatelogs/* is pretty much it, which is fine if you're up for hunting around. Better than nothing for sure.

    I'm still curious to know how the cppop thing went - did the service ever even start? If so, was it even cppop (telnet 0 110 and note the banner).

    1 bad checksum file on CPAN shouldn't cause issues of this multitude in my opinion. That's what the numerous mirrors are for in the first place.
     
  10. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well everything seems to be working on that server now.

    I was having issues using the move Copy multiple accounts from another server function so I will try that now and see if it is now fixed.
     
  11. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  12. burstcorey

    burstcorey Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do you possibly have any idea what mirror that was that they downloaded the CHECKSUMS file from? Or did they leave that detail out?
     
    #12 burstcorey, Nov 14, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2006
  13. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    They left that out.

    I may ask them where and psot back.
     
  14. ShaneD

    ShaneD Guest

    Hey people,
    Well, if this is any concellation, my CPanel took a crap.
    It was so bad, it took my entire server out.
    Hey Cpanel technicians?
    Where are you?
    :)
    As I write this CPanel is being reinstalled, hopefully it installs correctly this time, piece of crap.
    just thought I'd toss in my two sense worth.
     
  15. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is really too vague to even comment on, and could have been related to a number of hardware and/or software related issues.

    If you run into any issues with the installer, please post them here.
     
Loading...

Share This Page