The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

China and Russian Federation reports

Discussion in 'Security' started by GaryT, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My firewall and mod_security keep going crazy on this recently, Im wondeing if anyone has any tips on blocking these two permenantly, Now mod_security gives them a permenant block but I'm not sure what the block was for to be honest...

    Just mumbo jumbo in the log....

    Just need to mass block these some how ? Any sugegstions. :D
     
  2. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Bump Bump :rolleyes:

    I googles the email error and most google results show block the country, How ?

    How can you deny a whole country LOL !

    Im confused :D

    still getting them by the way !
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,449
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You mean, your security is working, correct?


    It's actually a serious matter to block an entire country. Not that it's hard mind you, but it could be very taxing on the servers resources.


    ConfigServer Security & Firewall
    A snip from that page:

    More reading here:
    ConfigServer Scripts Forum - View topic - Block IPs by Country Code on a VPS = error

    HTH.
     
  4. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Yeah security must be working good ! cc_deny now have CN,RU, This took around 30 seconds to update on LFD restart, TONS of IP's..

    Anyhow, Infopro Thank you for your time in posting and helping me out, Much appreciated !
     
    #4 GaryT, Sep 21, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,449
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You are certainly welcome. :p
     
  6. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can say that again ! :rolleyes:

    from server load: 0.00 / 0.010 tops to - quiet period 1.24 / Busy period 2.86 !

    Not alot for a xeon quad core but it sure made IPtables work.

    Not had those email logs now though.
     

Share This Page