The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chkservd Not Installed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by daavros, May 26, 2006.

  1. daavros

    daavros Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have just upgraded to a new server, which runs WHM and CPANEL. However it appears that Chkservd has not been installed - When updating service manager to monitor services I get the following error message:

    Unable to restart chkservd monitoring daemon

    I have checked the directory and can confirm chkservd has not been intalled. In addition I am unable to find it to install from within the rpm installer on WHM . Therefore I need a link to the most recent chkservd which I can download and then install via ssh.

    Can anyone help me.

    Thanks
     
    #1 daavros, May 26, 2006
    Last edited: May 26, 2006
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    chkservd is an integral part of cPanel and so it seems strange that it is not present.

    Running /scripts/upcp --force will reinstall cPanel, which should then force chkservd to be (re)installed.

    Before doing so, check your update config in WHM to make sure you know which release tree yo will be installing from.
     
  3. daavros

    daavros Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How will this affect the sites I have moved onto the server?

    Isn't there a way where I can install chkservd individually, rather than performing a complete reinstall of cpanel. Or is it installed and I am missng something?
     
  4. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Forcing a reinstall of cPanel should just reinstall what you currently have and shouldn't affect existing sites.

    What gives you the impression that it's not installed?
     
  5. daavros

    daavros Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I try to manually restart it from the ssh command line it returns no such service.
     
  6. daavros

    daavros Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just ran the reinstall of cpanel. Still getting the error message Unable to restart chkservd monitoring daemon after updating service manager in WHM to monitor additional services..

    The only services currently monitored are: Server Load 0.13 (2 cpus)
    Memory Used 9.3 %
    Swap Used 0.00 %
    Disk sda3 (/) 12 %
    Disk sda1 (/boot)


    Any ideas?
     
  7. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You'd probably be best off contacting cPanel support - have you tried this?
     
  8. daavros

    daavros Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not yet. I'll do this now. Thanks.
     
  9. 24x7team

    24x7team Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    really tough to find
    service manager ???
     
  10. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm just discovering this now too. Forced cPanel install to no avail. Let me know if you get a response. I'm making a ticket with cPanel now and will post if I hear back first.
     
  11. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    same problem here!
     
  12. Mysteerie

    Mysteerie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yup, same here.
     
  13. mrcpu

    mrcpu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've seen the same thing.
     
  14. stuartd

    stuartd Registered

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same here as well
     
  15. dropby23

    dropby23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    same here on a brad new server on also stable
     
  16. agressor

    agressor Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same problem there in a new server.
     
  17. world800

    world800 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem here!

    I have got the following version.
    WHM 10.8.0
    cPanel 10.8.2-R115
    CentOS 4.3 i686
     
  18. dropby23

    dropby23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try this one
    /scripts/upcp
    cp /usr/local/cpanel/src/chkservd/init/chkservd.init.redhat /etc/init.d/chkservd
    chkconfig chkservd on
    service chkservd start
     
  19. world800

    world800 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    To Dropby23:

    Great! It works for me.

    Thank you so much! Thank you!

    >>I have got the following version.
    >>WHM 10.8.0
    >>cPanel 10.8.2-R115
    >>CentOS 4.3 i686
     
  20. cyberturk

    cyberturk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    in radhat 9 it is giving error :S


    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-S120
    RedHat 9 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
    #20 cyberturk, Jul 17, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page