The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

chmod 777

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HH-Steven, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    chmod 755

    Ok, didnt know where to put this, so i suppose general will do.

    Whenever i update cpanel, rebuild apache or anything else like that all my accounts get chmodded to 644 which results in a 403 forbidden error message upon viewing the accounts.

    Simple solution yes - chmod 755 /home/*/public_html

    But it still doesnt stop these errors showing up in the first place, how do i go about that?

    Ive tried /scripts/enablefileprotect but it doesnt make a difference.

    Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks
     
    #1 HH-Steven, Jan 13, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2005
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You have to be kidding me, 777 ? Check your error logs.. for the love of god! Your approach is like taking a baseball bat to a computer because your can't open the cd-drawer.
     
  3. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    777 is a hackers dream come true. You effectively allow any user anywhere to modify any file without challenge.

    I would recommend hiring a sysadmin to fix the true reason behind the 403 instead of opening your server to attachs and hacks.
     
  4. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yeah, sorry about that, i meant 755, thats what you get for posting in a rush.

    Was merely using 777 as an example of what i had to do.

    Anyway, is there any solution to this?
     
  5. Etheral

    Etheral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    do you get any errors in apache logs after a build?
     
  6. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, only the one, but its repeated over and over :

    Code:
    [13-Jan-2005 14:12:03] PHP Warning:  Unknown(): Unable to load dynamic library './ixed.lin.4.3.8$ cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory in Unknown on line 0
     
  7. Donna

    Donna BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    two things...

    #1 run
    /scripts/fixeverything

    #2
    Make sure under WHM's tweak settings that you have it set to use sourceguardian as the main php decoder
     
  8. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OK, well /scripts/fixeverything didnt help and i see no option for sourceguardian in whm - tweaksettings
     
  9. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, just checked my logwatch email on the off chance it might list something and i noticed the following :

    WARNING: Kernel Errors Present
    hda: drive_cmd: error=0x04 { DriveStat...: 1Time(s)
    hda: drive_cmd: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }...: 1Time(s)

    hdb: drive_cmd: error=0x04 { DriveStat...: 1Time(s)
    hdb: drive_cmd: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }...: 1Time(s)

    Ive got a feeling thats whats causing it, how can i fix that? or would it be a DC issue?
     
  10. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm fairly sure that's just a S.M.A.R.T. error... and isn't anything to worry about.

    However, it's suggested that you google it (google.com) and read up on it.
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you only get those errors on boot and only once, then they're probably nothing to worry about as dezignguy says. If you get reams of them regularly, then your disk is probably on its last legs.
     
Loading...

Share This Page