The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chmod

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ThunderHostingDotCom, Jun 20, 2003.

  1. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    I changed the CHMOD on a directory to 777 using WS_FTP Pro & it changed the permissions for the entire site to 777. Now when I went back and changed that directory to 644 it also changed the permissions for the entire site to 644 but now none of my pictures/logos show up and when I try to access them directly I get an error that I am not authorized to access that file. I had to change the entire site back to 777 just so things would work right.

    My questions is...
    1) Does anyone know why WS_FTP Pro did this?
    2) How in the heck to I get my permissions back to normal?
    3) What s/w I should use to set CHMOD if not WS_FTP Pro?
     
    #1 ThunderHostingDotCom, Jun 20, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2003
  2. NetX

    NetX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would recommend chmod your site via OS

    In your public_html directory:

    1) # chmod -R 755 *
    2) # chmod -R 644 *.*


    If you want to use ftp sw, you have a lot of options, ftp voyager, cuteftp, etc..

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    Via OS? My Operating System?
    I have used WS_FTP Pro in the past but it seems to screw things up now.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. NetX

    NetX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try changing your ftp sw. I use ftp voyager without problems.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page