Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Clam AV -- How To Update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bmcpanel, Oct 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    I noticed in my clamav log, that it says it's time to upgrade clam av. Can someone direct me to where I might learn how to upgrade it? I cannot seem to find help in the documentation of Clam, nor on the clamav.com web site.
     
  2. 3w-hostconcept

    3w-hostconcept Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    France (Mouans Sartoux)
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    ...which may not be appropriate. It does depend on exactly where you currently have ClamAV installed. If the following:

    whereis freshclam

    comes back with /usr/bin/freshclam, then you can use that. However, if it comes back with /usr/local/bin/freshclam, then you should download the tarball and follow the INSTALL instructions.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jdonoso

    jdonoso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    The Third Rock from The Sun!
    Hi,

    I did the whereis freshclam command to see my current install of clamav, but the following shows:

    freshclam: /usr/bin/freshclam /etc/freshclam.conf /usr/local/bin/freshclam /usr/man/man1/freshclam.1

    Does this mean I have 2 installations of clamav??? I remember I installed the clamav following normal instruction on site (http://www.clamav.net/), after which my vps provider installed the clamav-connector Add-on which according to them was necessary in order for it to work.

    Anyways, my question is, if I have 2 installations? How do I Uninstall? If I'm ok and I only have 1 installation, then how do I upgrade to recent 0.81 version?

    Thanks for your help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #5 jdonoso, Jan 24, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice