The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

clamav 0.90.2 potential problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by abubin, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I read in mailscanner mailing list that some users are having performance issue after upgrading to clamav 0.90.2 recently. Some find that this new clamav is taking more resources to do the scanning and causing emails to choke up in the queue.

    For those who already upgraded, whether using mailscanner or not, are you facing such problem on your server? I want to know for sure before upgrading.
     
  2. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, it is using around 20% more CPU then the last version.
     
  3. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes since 90.1 we have noticed a large increase. 90.2 is chewing through the resources

    mailnull 63.36 1.95 0.0
    Top Process %CPU 184 /usr/local/bin/clamscan --unzip --jar --tar --tgz --deb --max-ratio500 --tempdir/tmp/clamav.14439 -r --disable-summary --stdout .
    Top Process %CPU 182 /usr/local/bin/clamscan --unzip --jar --tar --tgz --deb --max-ratio500 --tempdir/tmp/clamav.30862 -r --disable-summary --stdout .
    Top Process %CPU 133 /usr/local/bin/clamscan --unzip --jar --tar --tgz --deb --max-ratio500 --tempdir/tmp/clamav.21455 -r --disable-summary --stdout .
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If this is through MailScanner, are you using clamavmodule? clamscan suggest you're using clamav instead for the virus scanner which is indeed more resource intensive than the module route.
     
  5. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Jonathan, yes it's mailscanner FE it's your install :)

    We haven't changed anything in terms of MSFE how do we change to module usage?
     
  6. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nevermind found it, yes your right usage resource is virtual 1/10 now using the module.
     
  7. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have been using clamav module all along. So, I am assuming it is save to upgrade?
     
Loading...

Share This Page