ClamAV Antivirus :???

sh4ka

May 12, 2005
Uruguay
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
Hello everyone,

Do you recommend ClamAV antivirus to be installed on a RH/Fedora & cPanel system.. ? have anyone tried it on this kind of system ? Is this tool really necessary?, does it takes too many cpu/memory usage ?

a66fm

Jul 12, 2003
Greece
i've been using it for more than 1,5 years now without any issues.
i think it's a must to have an antivirus software on any pc nowdays but it's up to you to decide if you really need it.
cheers

gupi

Apr 27, 2004
There are plenty of tutorials on HowTo implement clamav+[MTA]+amavisd as a good mailscanning solution.

Personally, I use clamav+postfix+amavisd on a Fedora Core 2 box for about two years, and works great. As a66fm posted before, NO issues at all.

Clamav uses pretty small resources, and has to connect to the internet just once a day, for signature updates.

haze

Dec 21, 2001
Before even considering installing the software on your system, I would make sure that you know and understand your local laws that might effect your company. For instance, as an Australian business, if we actively scan email for virii and a client becomes infected, we would be responsible and we would have to pay for any damages / lost business etc. caused by any infestation. Just some food for thought.

astopy

Apr 3, 2003
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
haze said:
Before even considering installing the software on your system, I would make sure that you know and understand your local laws that might effect your company. For instance, as an Australian business, if we actively scan email for virii and a client becomes infected, we would be responsible and we would have to pay for any damages / lost business etc. caused by any infestation. Just some food for thought.