The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ClamAV Antivirus :???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sh4ka, Sep 13, 2005.

1. sh4ka

sh4ka Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello everyone,

Do you recommend ClamAV antivirus to be installed on a RH/Fedora & cPanel system.. ? have anyone tried it on this kind of system ? Is this tool really necessary?, does it takes too many cpu/memory usage ?

2. a66fm

a66fm Well-Known Member

i've been using it for more than 1,5 years now without any issues.
    i think it's a must to have an antivirus software on any pc nowdays but it's up to you to decide if you really need it.
    cheers

3. astopy

astopy Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recommend installing it for mail filtering - it is very effective in stopping viruses from reaching users' mailboxes.

4. gupi

gupi Well-Known Member

There are plenty of tutorials on HowTo implement clamav+[MTA]+amavisd as a good mailscanning solution.

Personally, I use clamav+postfix+amavisd on a Fedora Core 2 box for about two years, and works great. As a66fm posted before, NO issues at all.

Clamav uses pretty small resources, and has to connect to the internet just once a day, for signature updates.

5. haze

haze Well-Known Member

Before even considering installing the software on your system, I would make sure that you know and understand your local laws that might effect your company. For instance, as an Australian business, if we actively scan email for virii and a client becomes infected, we would be responsible and we would have to pay for any damages / lost business etc. caused by any infestation. Just some food for thought.

6. astopy

astopy Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator