The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ClamAV==Clamscan??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by eagle, Oct 5, 2003.

  1. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have installed the Mailscanner option on the CPanel downloads (Latest MailScanner installer [exim4 virus scanner] (unsupported):
    mailscanner-autoinstall-1.5.tar.gz (Sat Aug 2 21:53:19 2003))

    Recently, I see very high cpu states with the Clamscan process (sometimes 50%, which results in loads higher than 5 - 6)

    Is it normal that the Clamscan process takes that much? Is there a way to lessen this (besides uninstalling :))?

    Thanks.
    Sam

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Tina

    Tina Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    clamscan maxxing out cpu

    I am observing the same issue. Is anyone aware of what might be the problem/issue/resolution?

    Thanks.
     
  3. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That's a shame :( , especially with those never ending worm attacks.
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Try upgrading to the latest mailscanner and using clamavmodule instead of clamav. That should reduce the load. It did for me.
     
  5. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    upgraded to the latest and ran the perl module and ive found that all is ok then suddenly loads go thru the roof and the only fix is to killall -9 mailscanner and then restart mailscanner

    anyone else found this or know of a solution???

    Im running this on a hyperthreaded 3Ghz P4 with 2Gb ram so it should never have become an issue
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Just to check, did you do all the following steps:

    You installed Mail::ClamAV:

    /scripts/perlinstaller Mail::ClamAV

    You then edited your /usr/mailscanner/etc/MailScanner.conf file and changed the line:

    Virus Scanners = clamav

    to:

    Virus Scanners = clamavmodule

    Then killed off all the MailScanner processes and restarted MailScanner?

    Doing this should work, as it has for me on many servers and many others here.
     
  7. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes all done.

    It works well for a while then suddenly with no warning loads go thru the roof and i have to killall and then restart it

    happens at least 6 times a day
     
  8. jalons

    jalons Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Inline::C failing?

    Anybody else having problems with Inline::C failing while trying to install the Mail::ClamAV option?

    (sorry about the bump)
     
  9. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Re: Inline::C failing?


    Yes getting the same sort of problem.


    so i tried reinstalling Inline::C but it made no difference.

    anyone have a fix for it?
     
  10. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had the same problem. Only reinstalling with the autoinstaller and with these :


    This is a revised howto from the one posted by anand at the cPanel forums.
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?s=...ighlight=clamav

    If you already have MailScanner installed:
    1) cd mailscanner-autoinstall-1.5
    2) ./uninstall

    If not, start here:
    1) Install the following perl modules from WHM:
    Net::CIDR
    Inline
    2) wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/mailscanner-autoi...tall-1.5.tar.gz
    3) tar -xzvf mailscanner-autoinstall-1.5.tar.gz
    4) cd mailscanner-autoinstall-1.5
    5) wget http://www.sng.ecs.soton.ac.uk/mailscanner...4.28.6-1.tar.gz
    6) mv MailScanner-4.28.6-1.tar.gz MailScanner-4.28.6.tar.gz
    7) pico install
    8) Change QUOTE
    $version = "4.22-5";
    to QUOTE
    $version = "4.28.6";

    9) ctrl-x to save
    10) wget http://twtelecom.dl.sourceforge.net/source...-0.70-rc.tar.gz
    11) pico claminstall
    12) Go to line 10, and replace tar xfzv clamav-0.60.tar.gz with tar xfzv clamav-0.70-rc.tar.gz
    On line 11, replace cd clamav-0.60 with cd clamav-0.70-rc
    13) ctrl-x to save


    directions (from http://forum.cpanelhosts.com/index.php?act=ST&f=2&t=299&st=0)



    and than manually (not through whm) installing mail::clamav did it. But now I get a lot of defuncts and hanging mailscanner processes, so I shut it down to avoid enormous loads.
     
  11. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've deinstalled mailscanner. I'm sick of the loads and Mail::ClamAv doens't seem to work (the virus warnings suddenly stopped as where I received a couple in an hour before.

    Does anyone know of another scanner, which doesn't take so much load???
     
  12. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Another idea would be to use clamdscan instead, since libclamav is a bit recent

    I'm not 100% sure on how to do this yet, I'll have to post a thread on the mailscanner forum/mailing list
    if anyone beats me there, please post a pointer here...
     
  13. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Re: Re: ClamAV==Clamscan??

    An extract from clamav website

    http://clamav.sourceforge.net/doc/0.70/html/node19.html

    Clamdscan

    it can't use external unpackers


    So what happens to attachment scanning ?
     
  14. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hmmm...

    Another extract from clam website

    All ClamAV scanners depend on LibClamAV. It has a built-in support for the following formats:
    Zip
    Gzip
    Bzip2
    RAR (2.0 only)


    Probably answer to my own question :p
     
  15. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  16. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  17. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I experimented with the versions of Mail::ClamAV and Mailscanner.

    I used the lastest version of Mailscanner and 0.6 of Mail::ClamAV.

    After that I only had to install one more Perl module and the thing worked.
     
  18. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    which other module ?
     
  19. eagle

    eagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  20. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Well i know about that thread, and if you look at the last few posts in which you say you had trouble with Inline module and reinstall it, you will find that there is no posting on what module needs to be installed additionally to solve it.

    Probably i wud have missed it, thats the reason i posted the message asking you which module was it. anyways...
     

Share This Page