The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clamav errors

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by damainman, Jan 3, 2005.

  1. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I get this error on a few files:
    - LibClamAV Error: cli_untar: unknown type flag 1
    - LibClamAV Error: cli_untar: unknown type flag L

    I installed clamav using cpanel's clamavconnector.. anything i can do to fix this?
     
  2. brentp

    brentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ayr, North Queensland, Australia
    those sort of errors are commonly fixed by uninstalling and reinstalling the addon.

    Regards,
    Brent
     
  3. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you, I'll try that and post here what happens.

    - One more thing. When installation it, i always receive this error:

    Changing shell for clamav.
    Warning: "/bin/false" is not listed in /etc/shells
    Shell not changed.


    Can i ignore that?
     
    #3 damainman, Jan 4, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2005
  4. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Still getting the same errors. Thing i noticed is whenever i receive that flag message, i receive a IO error message on the file after it.

    "
    LibClamAV Error: cli_untar: unknown type flag 1
    //backup/cpbackup/daily/dirs/_usr_local_cpanel_3rdparty_mailman.tar.gz: Input/Output error
    LibClamAV Error: cli_untar: unknown type flag L
    //backup/cpbackup/daily/mary.tar.gz: Input/Output error
    "

    It only does this for a few files, and i had my datacenter take a look at it. They ran fsck on my drive and said theres no problems with it.

    Any ideas?
     
  5. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    Do you have clamav install before using clamavconnector ?

    If yes, you must have clean uninstall the first clamav and then install using clamavconnector.
     
  6. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had clamav before, but i completly removed it before installing clamav connector.

    Also, after i installed clamav connector, i uninstall and reinstalled it.. to see if the errors would leave.

    Thank u for ur reply.
     
  7. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    I have that similar problem week ago on one of my server and i do like anand said to me :

    Please make sure you delete all clamav lib
    ----------
    rm -rf /usr/lib/libclamav.so /usr/lib/pkgconfig/libclamav.pc /usr/lib/libclamav.so.1.0.4 /usr/lib/libclamav.la /usr/lib/libclamav.so.1 /usr/lib/libclamav.a /usr/local/lib/libclamav.so.1.0.3 /usr/local/lib/libclamav.so.1
    -----------

    Try uninstall again and do above step and install it again.

    If this not help .. maybe another tech guy can help you .. (maybe anand or chirpy)
     
  8. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried what you suggested, and yes there was leftover libclamav files that i removed with that command. However i'm still getting the errors :(.

    I'm on a RHE server.

    Thanks for your reply though :)
     
  9. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    updated to the latest cpanel release, and still have the same issue :(
     
  10. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    someone suggested updating my version of tar. Would it break anything with cpanel and RHE?
     
Loading...

Share This Page