Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

ClamAV / Freshclam Installation Outdated Problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by spinnenkop, Oct 27, 2004.

  1. spinnenkop

    spinnenkop Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,
    About two days ago I got a message in my log
    saying that ClamAV was outdated.
    So I upgraded to the latest version.
    I ran freshclam several times from the command line
    to check if everything works.
    And it does, on errors!
    But... Every morning my cron.daily report still says
    my ClamAV installation is outdated.
    Can somebody please help me with this!

    Thanks,
    Spinnenkop
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You've probably got it installed in two locations, i.e. under /usr and /usr/local

    What application are you using ClamAV for? Which one will suggest which distribution you should be using. If you install ClamAV from tarball, it defaults to /usr/local.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. spinnenkop

    spinnenkop Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    That's right
    I have a freshclam.conf ins /usr/local/etc
    and one in /etc
    What do you suggest I should do?
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You need to delete one of them, but knowing which one depends on what you're using ClamAV for, as I asked before.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. spinnenkop

    spinnenkop Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Oh sorry, I'm using ClamAv in combination with Exiscan.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Then you'll need to get rid of the one in /usr/local. This should do it, though it's quite brutal:
    Code:
    /bin/rm -Rfv /usr/local/bin/clam*
    /bin/rm -Rfv /usr/local/sbin/clam*
    /bin/rm -Rfv /usr/local/lib/libclam*
    /bin/rm -Rfv /usr/local/share/clam*
    /bin/rm -Rfv /usr/local/include/clam*
    /bin/rm -Rfv /usr/local/bin/freshclam*
    /bin/rm -Rfv /usr/local/etc/clamav*
    
    You should then upgrade ClamAV again, but make sure that when you run configure that you use the correct prefix using:

    ./configure --prefix=/usr
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. spinnenkop

    spinnenkop Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I'll try that! Thank you very much!
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice