The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ClamAV Issue

Discussion in 'Security' started by PrestonEdwards, Oct 20, 2014.

  1. PrestonEdwards

    PrestonEdwards Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I'm trying to connect to the clamd socket (ClamAV installed with cPanel), but am not able to connect. I am using /var/clamd as the socket path. Is this correct, and if so, can you help me troubleshoot?

    Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    649
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please keep in mind the path to clamd installed through cPanel is:

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/clamd

    Could you elaborate further on the specific action you are taking? How can we reproduce the issue?

    Thank you.
     
  3. PrestonEdwards

    PrestonEdwards Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I need to reference the clamav socket so that a 3rd party software can use it for scanning purposes. It worked when I manually installed clamav, but I can't get the 3rd party software to connect with cPanel's clamav.

    Is there a configuration setting that is perhaps different with the cPanel version?
     
  4. quizknows

    quizknows Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Keep in mind sockets and binaries are different ;)

    My server has a socket at /var/clamd but I haven't verified if it's actually good for anything. The binary itself is where cPanelMichael indicated (/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/clamd)

    Code:
    [root@new /var]# stat clamd 
      File: `clamd'
      Size: 0         	Blocks: 0          IO Block: 4096   socket
    Device: fc03h/64515d	Inode: 9049        Links: 1
    Access: (0666/srw-rw-rw-)  Uid: (    0/    root)   Gid: (    0/    root)
    Access: 2014-10-27 10:23:05.000000000 -0400
    Modify: 2014-10-22 23:32:23.000000000 -0400
    Change: 2014-10-22 23:32:23.000000000 -0400
    [root@new /var]# stat  /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/clamd
      File: `/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/clamd'
      Size: 166738    	Blocks: 336        IO Block: 4096   regular file
    Device: fc03h/64515d	Inode: 229491      Links: 1
    Access: (0755/-rwxr-xr-x)  Uid: (    0/    root)   Gid: (    0/    root)
    Access: 2014-10-27 06:21:43.000000000 -0400
    Modify: 2014-06-19 10:16:24.000000000 -0400
    Change: 2014-07-21 19:02:02.000000000 -0400
    
     
  5. PrestonEdwards

    PrestonEdwards Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good catch. I have the same file with the same stats.

    Running "netstat -a" shows /var/clamd listening, but I am not able to connect to it. This is not the case if I install a custom clamav version. There must be something different about the cPanel build.

    Any ideas?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    649
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to submit a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page