The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ClamAV Scanner

Discussion in 'Security' started by GaryT, May 31, 2010.

  1. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does need a certaion port / Ip allowing or something as mine dont seem to function and always shows this:

    [​IMG]

    Im using:

    FastCGI
    xCache
    modsuphp
    mod_security
    Apache suEXEC
     
  2. kuldeep_

    kuldeep_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Do you get any error on using ClamAV Scanner from Cpanel ?
    If so past the error message here, so members on the forum can help you.
     
  3. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nothing shows this is what I do not get - Uninstall and re-install did nothing.
     
  4. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any suggestions :(
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Is this server fully up to date? Have you checked your error logs right after trying to access the scanner page for signs of a problem?

    If you've installed this thru WHM and it's not working as expected, you might want to put in a ticket to cPanel support to come by and take a closer look for you.
     
  6. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes its fully up to date - Even I updated to the new one last night - I will uninstall and -reinstall and then server reboot see what happens. I will let you know later on.
     
  7. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I will have to contact them now - as a re-install did not fix the issue
     
  8. cPanelJamyn

    cPanelJamyn Social Engineer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Gary,

    If you have a moment and are up to it, I'd appreciate a PM with your ticket number. Thanks!
     
  9. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I sent you a PM with the ticket ID.

    Quick edit: seems someone called Kyle is dealing with it at the moment. I sent my details and awaiting results :D
     
    #9 GaryT, Jun 3, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2010
  10. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This has now been fixed thanks to Kyle :cool:
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please let others know by replying here what the issues were. It may be helpful.

    TIA
     
  12. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    To be honest / He / She did not say except - I uninstalled - Re-installed - Its working please check :confused:

    Which it was - I did exactly what they did via WHM and root but same error, They obviously done something as its working yet the answer is unknown
     
  13. cuongvttt

    cuongvttt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I dont know why everybody get same issue?

    I dont know why everybody get same issue?
    CPanel should tell us know. Sometime we dont like to file a ticket.
    I have used CPanel for a long time but i dont know this featrue. Now i know it and addon this module via WHM but it don not work.
    Please help me.
     
  14. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I faced this a few times recently, but mostly it was a resource shortage issue. After coordinating with cPanel a couple of times, I have created a guide for myself and it has helped me fix issues for many of our clients.

    1- In tweak settings, make sure 'The maximum memory a cPanel process can use before it is killed off (in megabytes). Values less than 256 megabytes can not be specified. A value of "0" will disable the memory limits.' is set to to 512MB or above.

    2- Make sure 'pro' is already installed in "WHM >> Manage Plugins" before you attempt to re/install clamAV.

    3- Make sure you do not have any older version of clamAV installed via source. For safe measure move all '/usr/lib/libclam*' files to a separate folder and re-install clamAV.

    4- If its a VPS, make sure it is not running short of memory.

    I have not bothered cPanel once in months after I checked for the 4 things above.

     
  15. cuongvttt

    cuongvttt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Wow it works well...........

    Hi brothers.

    First, i wanna say special thanks to Howard.

    Your respond help me resolve this issue.

    Thank you again.
     
  16. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Glad I could help.

     
Loading...

Share This Page