Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Clamav updates

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cbwass, Mar 4, 2004.

  1. cbwass

    cbwass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Does Clamav update it's db automatic?
    I noticed that after running 'freshclam' it is still not stopping this new worm 'W32.Beagle.J@mm'.
    Any clues?
     
  2. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    The virus signature file is updated once a day.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cbwass

    cbwass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Do you know where the file is that tells clam where to update. I see that my install updates from clamav.cpanel.net and I'd like it to change that.
     
  4. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    The signature file is updated from database.clamav.net. I do not know how to change that. By the way, you can see the update log at:

    # pico /var/log/clam-update.log
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cbwass

    cbwass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    I checked the log it appears to make updates twice a day from clamav.cpanel.net. But it lets through the .zip attachments with the 'W32.Beagle.J@mm' virus, could it be the fact that the virus is password protected in an encrypted zip file giving the virus scanner problems?
     
  6. UniSol

    UniSol Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    You can't Virus Scan encrypten files.
     
  7. smarcellini

    smarcellini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Yes, as Unisol stated, the fact that this worm is passworded blocks virus scanners from accessing the zipped contents thus allows the worm to slip through. The only way around this is to block *.zip files from being delivered.
     
  8. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Are you using the layer1 installation? If so your MS will not catch the passworded zip files. You will need to update both MS and clamav for that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice