The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

clamd always taking load

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gopihere, Jan 24, 2009.

  1. gopihere

    gopihere Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    In many of our servers, I could see clamd always taking much CPU resource as well as memory. But those servers are not having any type of spam attack. But still its resource usage keeps varying from high to low frequently. Also spamd and mailman is showing in the top range when we give "top" command. Can any one shed some light on this?
    ========================
    1510 root 18 0 168m 101m 1180 S 0 1.2 0:14.65 /usr/sbin/clamd
    4519 mailman 18 0 44012 38m 2504 S 0 0.5 0:08.39 /usr/bin/python2.4 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/qrun
    17485 root 16 0 33632 30m 2264 S 0 0.4 0:20.92 spamd child
    18180 root 16 0 30212 27m 2220 S 0 0.3 0:01.29 spamd child
    ===========================
     
  2. SB-Nick

    SB-Nick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Do you have a catch-all address setup by chance?
    Check the mailboxes for the domains you had setup on the server and see if you dont have more email than usual.

    Also, a good hint would be to check the exim queue and see if the email server is not receiving emails for real.

    If you note everything is clean, you should start thinking about reinstalling MailScanner and clamAV and properly configure both.
     
  3. gopihere

    gopihere Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    >>Do you have a catch-all address setup by chance?

    Actually I set it to FAIL.

    Mail queue is also normal as per my usage.

    Any other guess? Or do I want to reinstall MailScanner and clamAV?
     
Loading...

Share This Page