The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clamd and Clamav

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ramorse, Jun 18, 2015.

  1. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Woke up this morning to have Clamd down on one server and Clamav down on another.

    When I try to restart clamd on one using
    /scripts/restartsrv_clamdI get:
    The system could not find the “/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/clamd” binary.

    On the other when I try to restart clamav using /scripts/restartsrv_clamav I get:
    /scripts/restartsrv_clamav: No such file or directory
    I also tried /etc/rc.d/init.d/clamav but I get
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/clamav: No such file or directory
     
  2. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, that's odd. Now the one server that had clamav down has it up. In spite of what the command line result said. Clamd is still down on the other server, though.
     
  3. 24x7ss

    24x7ss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Try running below command on server to start clamd

    /scripts/restartsrv clamd

    also you can use /etc/init.d/clamd start command. There is no service like clamav.
     
  4. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As stated I already tried /scripts/restartsrv clamd

    I just tried /etc/init.d/clamd start and get
    bash: /ect/init.d/clamd: No such file or directory
     
  5. 24x7ss

    24x7ss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It seems that clamd is not present on the server at the moment you have to install clamd on server by using rpm packages.
     
  6. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It doesn't appear in the RPM list in WHM. I have a support ticket in with Cpanel.
     
  7. 24x7ss

    24x7ss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, it is not part of Cpanel/WHM rpm. You can install it manually on any linux machine using repository.
     
  8. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's been resolved. It was there, and running, apprarently, just not properly symlinked. Cpanel support figured it out and now WHM reports it's fine and the email alerts have stopped. I have no idea why/how the issue was created. Not by any action on our part. It must have been something that came up caused by the Cpanel/WHM update to 11.50.
     
  9. RobertoD

    RobertoD Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I dont know if im getting this same problem but after my box updated to CPanel my clamd service is stoped.

    When i try to start it i get this message:

    ==============================================
    server # /etc/init.d/clamd start

    Starting Clam AntiVirus Daemon: ERROR: TCP: Cannot bind to [127.0.0.1]:3310: Address already in use

    ERROR: LOCAL: Socket file /var/run/clamav/clamd.sock is in use by another process.

    [FAILED]
    ==============================================

    If i try to restart it:

    /scripts/restartsrv clamd

    info [restartsrv_clamd] The system could not find required package 'cpanel-clamav' for service 'clamd'...

    Service Error

    The “clamd” service is not installed.



    Startup Log

    Stopping clamd: [ OK ]
    ==============================================


    As far as i know, the service was there and nothing changed.. besides the CPanel update.
     
  10. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You might want to submit a ticket. I had to do that to get this resolved. This is what Cpanel support discovered with my clamd after the update:

    This issue should now be resolved. The issue was that, instead of a symlink to /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/clamd, /usr/local/sbin/clamd was a separate binary. I moved aside this binary and symlinked /usr/local/sbin/clamd to /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/clamd:
     
  11. RobertoD

    RobertoD Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yes thats what i had to do.. they fixed it.. for some reason after the CPanel update it kind of messes with the clamd. Is working now.
     
  12. ramorse

    ramorse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It only happened on 1 server, though. Very odd. Glad you got it resolved.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It's likely this was caused by a third-party installation of ClamAV (e.g. from source or RPM). I am happy to see the issue is now resolved.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page