The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

clamd constantly failing/restarting

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by betoranaldi, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. betoranaldi

    betoranaldi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It seems that all of a sudden, clamd keeps on failing. I tried to install/update cpanel with --force but that doesn't seem to help.

    Is there anyway I can reinstall/recompile clamd? Sometimes is fails so many times it will cascade to ASSP which then causes the server to no serve pages and be unresponsive requiring the VPS to be rebooted.

    Nothing has changed on the server recently.

    Additionally, if it starts to fail, it will continue to fail every 5 minutes until I reboot the system. It also seems that WHM will stop working before the server stops serving pages.
     
    #1 betoranaldi, Feb 22, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010
  2. servertechs

    servertechs Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Check the load on the vps, the vps might be falling short of resources.
     
  3. betoranaldi

    betoranaldi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Everything looks pretty normal accept clamd which is taking up over 44% of the memory.

    Top resource users:
     
  4. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am also facing this issue, did any one figure out the cause for the same ?

    Thank you
     
  5. betoranaldi

    betoranaldi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It turned out that I was using custom signatures via ASSP and it was causing a load issue with clamav. Once I removed these custom signatures, the process ran correctly.
     
Loading...

Share This Page