The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clear DNS Cache Windows 8 Issue

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by MrLeN, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. MrLeN

    MrLeN Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I purchased a new domain and got some cPanel/whm hosting with it. But when I go to the website I get a yellow "cPanel" page saying that the server is misconfigured. So after trying to convince my host there's something wrong (and them exclaiming that theres nothing wrong -- which I now realise they were right) I moved the website to a different cPanel server (even though the site was working fine from a test on my dad's laptop).

    So, I move the domain set it all up again and I still have the same message.

    I test my website (again) on dads computer and various proxies and the "new" site is loading fine.

    I have finally come to the conclusion that somehow my computer is in some kind of DNS hell.

    When I go to my website, I get a page with these messages (only from MY computer).

    I followed those instructions (which ask me to open cod as admin and ipconfig /flushdns).

    ..didn't help. I even tried rebooting and flushing and even returned my computer to an earlier restore point. I even changed my IP. I still get that cPanel page in all browsers. Firefox, Chrome and ie.

    The page also has this message:
    And this message:

    The url is:

    mywebsite.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

    It's been 3 days now. I can't get it to go away. I've moved servers and everything.

    Can someone please explain to me what on earth is going on? Because I am completely out of ideas (and patience).

    I just want to work on my website (which I can't access from this computer).

    My new years resolution was to start this website and go full steam ahead all year.

    Day 3 and I am looking at some kind of cached cPanel misconfiguration page (and nothing is misconfigured).

    Note:

    If I go to :

    mywebsite.com/index.php

    ..low and behold -- it loads!

    And there's no .htaccess either.

    I dont know WHAT the problem is -- but I do know that it has something to do with DNS and "specifically" my computer.

    I have windows 8.

    Please help. I am starting to go insane (seriously).

    No seriously, I am about to start damaging stuff around me.

    Thanks for any help you can provide :)

    *twitch*
     
    #1 MrLeN, Jan 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2015
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  3. MrLeN

    MrLeN Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I changed them, but it didn't work :(
     
  4. MrLeN

    MrLeN Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, after 3 days, here's how I fixed it.

    I created a href link on a page called hello.html - which linked to home <a href="./">Home</a>

    I clicked it and before the page could resolve I quickly clicked on the browser refresh button.

    ..and then I got out of the DNS hell.

    The cache page is now gone.

    Man was that stressful!

    I am just adding this here in case anyone else in future comes to this thread.
     
  5. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Who is your ISP? It might have been their DNS servers that was caching the page. The ipconfig /flushdns doesn't always work depending on your network set up.

    You probably also could have checked if it was DNS caching by adding a ? to the end of index.php. Example:

    Code:
    /http://www.mysite.com/index.php?
    
     
  6. Kim Angelo Co

    Kim Angelo Co Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Peter!
    Im so sorry for necroing this very old thread but im having the same problem as MrLen, I'm new to this website thing and by adding the ? at the end of index.php the site worked.

    in the end without the ? it wouldn't. Do you have any tips on how I could solve this problem, and if it is a DNS caching issue?

    Thanks a lot!
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. Kim Angelo Co

    Kim Angelo Co Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael!

    I solved the problem. Well it was a stupid one. I created an addon domain in cPanel but still placed it in the public_html directory and not in the public_html/addondomain directory. once i did and cleared browser cache the site worked perfectly.
    thank you Michael!

    Kim
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page