The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clearing your dns cache failure on your site

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Hedloff, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. Hedloff

    Hedloff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi,

    Failure of information on this page:
    Clearing Your DNS Cache

    For MacOS users the command:
    "Type: dscacheutil -flushcache" does not exist they tell us. Could you take alook at it and change it?
     
  2. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please would you try "lookupd -flushcache" .

    Thank you,
    Nibin.
     
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could simply check a proxy for the site to see if it is working in a proxy, which won't be cached. A couple of proxy sites are proxify.net and kproxy.com (this one supports checking https urls).
     
  4. Hedloff

    Hedloff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for the replys.
    We do not use Mac so we cannot test this atm. But maybee you should update your webpages tristan if the command does not work? So our customer that comes to your page can use a command that does work? :)
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The command works on my Mac system running Mac OS X 10.6.7, so it isn't that the command does not work but that your user's Mac doesn't have a required component for it to work when most user systems would. Please feel free to have them post on the forum a return of the command nibin posted. :)

    Code:
    Tristans-Mac-mini:~ miraenda$ dscacheutil
    Usage: dscacheutil -h
           dscacheutil -q category [-a key value]
           dscacheutil -cachedump [-buckets] [-entries [category]]
           dscacheutil -configuration
           dscacheutil -flushcache
           dscacheutil -statistics
    
    Tristans-Mac-mini:~ miraenda$ dscacheutil -flushcache
    Tristans-Mac-mini:~ miraenda$
    I would be happy to provide a screen print of this same return from my Mac system if needed. There is no error and the dscacheutil command issued works.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page