The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Client backup problems?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rjerina, Mar 3, 2004.

  1. rjerina

    rjerina Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    MySQL Backup problems

    I have a client that is having trouble restoring backups that he made. He hasnt given me too much detail yet, but this is the problem he is having. If this looks familiar, someone please help out.

     
    #1 rjerina, Mar 3, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2004
  2. rjerina

    rjerina Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i checked his database, it has stuff in it, so it isnt because he has no databases or anything. can anyone help?
     
  3. rjerina

    rjerina Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    here are the errors in cpanel's error_log:

    root@server1 [/usr/local/cpanel/logs]# tail -f error_log
    Incorrectly built binary which accesses errno or h_errno directly. Needs to be fixed.
    /usr/bin/mysqladmin: CREATE DATABASE failed; error: 'Can't create database 'uvh_test'. Database exists'

    gzip: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.cg6nMcg59i71lfLZ: not in gzip format
    /usr/bin/mysqladmin: CREATE DATABASE failed; error: 'Can't create database 'uvh_test'. Database exists'

    gzip: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.Fc95JtPuYtyLOIkH: not in gzip format
    /usr/bin/mysqladmin: CREATE DATABASE failed; error: 'Can't create database 'uvh_test'. Database exists'

    gzip: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.aucvi8qCSP64xqwm: not in gzip format

    gzip: /tmp/cpanel.TMP.zHGbs8F3X2jvqYxe: not in gzip format
     
  4. pxn

    pxn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yup rjerina works for UVH and so do i, the issue we are having i think is with GZIP but not sure where or how.

    Any helpful advice is greatly appreciated.
     
  5. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Now this may sounds strange, but are you aware that before one can restore a db (from an off-site backup) the db (on the Server) must first be empty?
     
  6. rjerina

    rjerina Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's a backup from his account with us. And restoring it, i thought it was supposed to drop corresponding tables first?
     
  7. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, we all know where 'assuming' gets us. ;)

    As there is more than one way or method for doing a db backup, I find it easiest to just delete the Table and then upload the backup. Both are easily accomplished within phpMyAdmin -- unless the db is greater than 5 or so MB. For those I do an import using shell as most Server settings will time out on anything larger, when using phpMyAdmin.

    Just wanted to mention that deleting the db setup is not what I meant, earlier -- deleting the db Table is what I actually meant. Most people are familiar with the difference, but thought I mention it anyway.
     
  8. rjerina

    rjerina Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    it's weird though, on another server we tried this same situation, and it worked like it's expected to, and the databases were there i am pretty sure.
     
  9. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    As website rob said, "assuming" does create trouble ;)

    Shell indeed at times comes real handy to restore large db's. I also prefer to use shell to restore / backup huge db's.
     
  10. pxn

    pxn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Assuming he was not i have been working with mysql and PHP for 6 years now and know enough about it to tell you what it does, after testing the Database Backup Cpanel feature on another server i find that it adds a drop table if exist command into the top of the Backup file so once attempted to restore it would delete the tables.

    And to top this off deleting the tables or DB on our server made no difference same results and problem, so next time you think someone is assuming why don't you check before you jump down his throat.

    Also my thought are gzip because i try to restore one our GZIP archives on another server and it fails it does nothing just has the image restoring image, meaning that the gzip is creating corrupt archives. So we need to know how to correct this issue, thanks anyone who has some helpful advice.

    Sincerely,
    Jeremy Hewit
    PxN President

    /----------------------- Data Snippet from 2nd server -----/
    --------------
    DROP TABLE IF EXISTS tutorials
    --------------

    --------------
    CREATE TABLE tutorials (
    id int(10) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
    tutorial_name text,
    tutorial text,
    catergory text,
    PRIMARY KEY (id)
    ) TYPE=MyISAM
    --------------

    --------------
    INSERT INTO tutorials (id, tutorial_name, tutorial, catergory) VALUES (1,'test','test tut','testcat1')
    --------------

    --------------
    INSERT INTO tutorials (id, tutorial_name, tutorial, catergory) VALUES (2,'test2','test tut','testcat2')
    --------------

    --------------
    INSERT INTO tutorials (id, tutorial_name, tutorial, catergory) VALUES (3,'blizum','blamblam`','testcat3')
    --------------
     
  11. pxn

    pxn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  12. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No one is jumping on anyone's throat here pxn. As for your 6 years of experience, good for you (if i were to compare your experience with your posts here to help people, i really won't like to even continue forward on this). I had no intention to offend rjerina in any manner. Besides my post was addressed to him and not you.

    rjerina, if you are offended in any manner, please accept my apologies. I was just trying to point that assuming doesn't work most of the times. You need to double check and be sure thats all.
     
  13. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    rjerina, include the cpanel build you are running.

    Let me try to get a backup of some dbs through cpanel and c wat happens.
     
  14. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    ok here it is, mysql backup from cpanel, X theme.

    WHM 8.8.0 cPanel 8.8.0-S74
    RedHat 7.3 - WHM X v2.1.2

    PHP:
    -- MySQL dump 9.09
    --
    -- 
    Hostlocalhost    Databasexxxx_xxxx
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    -- 
    Server version    4.0.15-standard-log

    --
    -- 
    Table structure for table `admins`
    --

    DROP TABLE IF EXISTS admins;
    CREATE TABLE admins (
      
    admin_id int(11NOT NULL auto_increment,
      
    name varchar(50NOT NULL default '',
      
    dept varchar(50NOT NULL default '',
      
    password varchar(20NOT NULL default '',
      
    add_time datetime NOT NULL default '0000-00-00 00:00:00',
      
    flag int(11NOT NULL default '0',
      
    PRIMARY KEY  (admin_id)
    TYPE=MyISAM;

    --
    -- 
    Dumping data for table `admins`
    --


    --
    -- 
    Table structure for table `admintask`
    --

    DROP TABLE IF EXISTS admintask;
    CREATE TABLE admintask (
      
    admintask_id int(11NOT NULL auto_increment,
      
    admin_id int(11NOT NULL default '0',
      
    task_id int(11NOT NULL default '0',
      
    PRIMARY KEY  (admintask_id)
    TYPE=MyISAM;

    --
    -- 
    Dumping data for table `admintask`
    --

    Part dump from a mysql backup generated by cpanel. The DROP looks in place at present.

    Perhaps it would be better once we know which build we are talking about.
     
  15. pxn

    pxn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM 8.8.0 cPanel 8.8.0-R73
    RedHat Enterprise 3 - WHM X v2.1.2

    And he was not guessing was my point he talked it over with me his boss and then we concluded some conclusive facts before he posted, and yet again i agree no offense was intended by my post either if anyone was offended please accept my apology.
     
  16. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Could you try to take your build to stable / current ? and then post results here ? I have a RHEL box on hand. Will see if i can create some db's there and get the same errors as you do.

    This is the build i would be testing on.

    WHM 9.0.0 cPanel 9.0.0-C43
    RedHat Enterprise 3 - WHM X v2.1.2
     
  17. pxn

    pxn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Upgraded to the latest stable.

    WHM 9.0.0 cPanel 9.0.0-R44
    RedHat Enterprise 3 - WHM X v2.1.2
     
  18. pxn

    pxn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Which solved our problem amazingly enough :) thanks for the help man.
     
  19. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    np. glad it worked out for you. :)
     
  20. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Your clients backup media may be corrupted or while doing ftp of the file is leading to problem.

    What you need to do is ask your client the following information:

    1. Username or Login for the account
    2. Password for cPanel
    3. The site's IP
    4. And the full domain name of the account

    With this information contact the clients old server and attempt to package the information and transfer it to our server. If sucessfull everything including mail would be intact.

    Hope this will resolve your issue.

    Regards,

    Bright
    :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page