Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Client having problem with rebill-cronjob (exits after 4/5 rebills)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dennis00, Feb 21, 2005.

  1. dennis00

    dennis00 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    A client of mine is having problems with his rebill-cronjob. The billing cronjob exits after (about) 30 seconds and most of the time 4 or 5 rebills.

    This is the message sent by crond:
    Code:
    Looking up www.paid-content-website.com
    www.paid-content-website.com
    Making HTTP connection to www.paid-content-website.com
    Sending HTTP request.
    HTTP request sent; waiting for response.
    Alert!: Unexpected network read error; connection aborted.
    Can't Access `http://www.paid-content-website.com...flow_rebill.php'
    Alert!: Unable to access document.
    
    lynx: Can't access startfile
    I have set max_execution_time to 300 (instead of 30 seconds) for all these php.ini's on my cPanel server and it's given correctly in phpinfo.php;
    Code:
    /var/cpanel/version/php.ini-2
    /etc/php.ini
    /usr/lib/php.ini
    /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    /usr/local/lib/php.ini.new
    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/etc/php.ini
    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/lib/php.ini
    /home/cpins/installd/buildapache/php-4.3.9/pear/tests/php.ini
    /home/cpins/installd/buildapache/php-4.3.9/php.ini-recommended
    /home/cpins/installd/buildapache/php-4.3.9/php.ini-dist
    /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.8/pear/tests/php.ini
    /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.8/php.ini-recommended
    /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.8/php.ini-dist
    Questions
    Would using /usr/bin/php instead of /usr/bin/lynx make any difference?
    How can I let the lynx output be sent to my e-mail adress?
    Is there any problem with lynx maybe? It automaticly exists after xxx seconds?
    I am running APF Firewall, is that a problem?
    Is Apache exiting running the php-file or is lynx exiting?

    Any advise is welcome!
     
  2. dennis00

    dennis00 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Anybody?

    cPanel Support responded: "We don't support 3rdparty software". Actually it's only a php-script, no actual software. But they are not willing to help.

    Ahy advise is welcome.
     
  3. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The error actually states whats going on.

    It cannot access that site.

    I just noticed, is that the real name for the domain call? www.paid-content-website.com ??

    That domain is not registered. [ERROR: The parent servers say that the domain paid-content-website.com does not exist.]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. dennis00

    dennis00 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I'd rather keep the identity of this domain secret.

    This is a paid-content website, and the owner wants to stay anonymous.

    I can assure u, the domain is working perfectly and no DNS-settings are wrong.
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Wasn't sure that's why I asked.

    It is possible depending on the frequency of the cronjob makeing the request that it in itself is causing the issue. For example if you mod_dosevasive loaded with Apache and you hit your site too repeadly you can essentially block yourself for a short period of time which would cause that exact error.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. dennis00

    dennis00 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    It's only ran once a day. Wasn't the problem.

    We had to move client to another server installing clean cPanel-server. Having to do the rebills manually (by going to the cronjob-link) was unacceptable.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice