The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Client locked out from server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by F Brown, Jun 29, 2004.

  1. F Brown

    F Brown Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    A client has had this issue before they had changed thier IP address and where able to access the server again. However it happens every time and I would like to understand why, and fix the problem.

    The client is logging in via an SSH client (PuTTy, using the one in cpanel, and a few others). Once they do that they are unable to access the server in any way (HTTP, FTP, SSH, POP).
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you saying they are on a dynamic ip?
     
  3. APDresch

    APDresch Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm the client in question

    The domain itself is - www.uoforums.com
    Everything about it was working AOK, right up until I ssh'd to the server to restore a database
    After doing that, I can no longer access the server via http, ftp or smtp/pop3
    Other users are ALSO locked out (They get Page cannot be displayed)

    I can still ssh to the server

    My IP is static, but i've since changed it and still can't get to it
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. APDresch

    APDresch Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  6. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes. Mis-configured probably. Don't know how long you have been experiencing problems. Might not be related to your current difficulty.
     
  7. APDresch

    APDresch Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hmm, any idea why it might happen after using ssh?
     
  8. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No. Only that your zone file doesn't appear to be updating. Are you seeing any errors when restarting Bind?
     
  9. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Of course you will have to direct that question to FBrown :)

    Is this a newly established domain or account?
     
  10. F Brown

    F Brown Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That's strange, other sites on that server are fine. I see there is no mx entry on the server for that accounts domain.
     
    #10 F Brown, Jun 29, 2004
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2004
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Certainly an odd problem. Do you have an iptables firewall installed on the server? For example, APF with antidos enabled or BFD installed? If so, have you checked iptables to see if the IP was blocked?

    Another alternative is do you have portsentry running, if so have you checked the /etc/hosts.deny file?
     
  12. APDresch

    APDresch Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We fixed it
    I ended up deleting the domain/user account and reinstating it
    Weird stuff
     
Loading...

Share This Page