The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Client Sub-domains

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Trax2k, Jul 7, 2017.

  1. Trax2k

    Trax2k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi,

    If we have mydom.com and we allow clients to create their accounts with this has a sub-domain and on the same server, would we need to have a wildcard record in the "mydom.com" records?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you confirm how the subdomains of that domain name are added to the server? For instance, are they added as new cPanel accounts, or as aliases and addon domain names on existing cPanel accounts? Or, are they added as part of a third-party application (e.g. WordPress)?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Trax2k

    Trax2k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Yes there added as a new cPanel account.

    Thanks!
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    A wildcard subdomain entry for the parent domain name is not required. Creating a new cPanel account for the subdomain will automatically generate a separate DNS zone for the subdomain name.

    Thank you.
     
    Trax2k likes this.
  5. Trax2k

    Trax2k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    So, has long as the domain name servers are pointing to mydom.com then account created would be fine?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, as long as the parent domain name uses name servers associated with the cPanel server's IP addresses, then no additional steps are required after creating the account.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Trax2k

    Trax2k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thanks Micheal
     
    anowar and cPanelMichael like this.
Loading...

Share This Page