The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Client who need to change default domain name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by [Q3], Oct 6, 2006.

  1. [Q3]

    [Q3] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys,

    I have a client who wants to change his domain name to a new one and drop the old name.
    Example: His current name is set to joeblow.com and he wants to use joeblow2007.com.

    The reason of this is he have lost the rights of joeblow.com because a guy autobuy the domain when it was expired and since the client forgot to renew it. He actually have to buy a new domain name.

    Is it possible to keep the account and juste replace the domain name with the new one without creating a new one and importing all the stuff in the new one?

    Cheers,

    Franco
     
  2. richy

    richy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, see the "Modify Account" function in WHM.
     
  3. [Q3]

    [Q3] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have tried that and it doesn't work.

    After that I have modified the domain name in that section. I can't no longer login as a client in the panel.

    Cheers,

    Franco
     
  4. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You need to login to WHM as root, then modify the account, and change the domain, working nicely for me :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page