The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clock 5 min back!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by adapter, Oct 31, 2005.

  1. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    i have a problem with the time of my server it is 5 minutes back, in Whm-->Server Time i have try to change it with different setting but it is always 5 min back

    how can i fix?

    i have try also:

    rdate -s rdate.darkorb.net

    hwclock --systohc

    thank you
     
  2. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    is your server getting its time automatically via ntp?

    possibly one of your time sources has the wrong time
     
  3. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    how can i check if i am using ntp?
     
  4. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    check in your /etc/init.d & check your cron jobs for ntpdate
     
  5. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    nothing for ntpdate
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Your clock should be synced with cPanel using rdate, the command for which ought to be in your /etc/rc.d/rc.local file and which is run everytime upcp runs. To do it manually:

    rdate -s rdate.darkorb.net
     
  7. jenyarm

    jenyarm Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Can you delegate darkorb.net to working DNS servers ? :D

    please check:
    http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/lookup.ch?name=darkorb.net&type=A
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you're having problesms with their domain, you could try contacting them directly and I'm sure they'd be responsive.
     
  9. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Just in case you need to install more up-to-date and better application than rdate, read my post at this thread: http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=38891&highlight=rdate
     
Loading...

Share This Page