The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cloning Account Packages and Feature Lists

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sirbrent, Jun 7, 2009.

  1. sirbrent

    sirbrent Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I am hoping someone has a method to clone a feature list and/or account package. I find it silly that this isnt an option in WHM. Its very annoying to have to create a new list from scratch and go back and forth between two windows/tabs of checklists to copy settings. I know I can disable features globally, but that isnt really a solution and for me isnt an option.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You'll find the packages in /var/cpanel/packages/
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You will find feature lists in /var/cpanel/features/
     
  4. meeven

    meeven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry to dig up an old post, but I am looking for exactly the same thing and this post came up through a Google search.

    I am kind of lost on how /var/cpanel/packages helps in cloning. Did you mean that creating another file with the same name and then renaming it will automatically create a new package with the same features as the original one in cPanel?
     
  5. Miraenda

    Miraenda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coralville, Iowa USA
    Correct, if you do the following, it will create a new package or feature list with the same settings as the old one:

    Code:
    cp /var/cpanel/features/default /var/cpanel/features/new
    cp /var/cpanel/packages/default /var/cpanel/packages/new
    This would make a clone of the default feature list or package and call the new feature list or package new. You can make a copy of whichever already existing feature list or package you would like to there, then modify any settings in WHM after you copy it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page