The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cluster / move accounts?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by monaghan, Jun 13, 2009.

  1. monaghan

    monaghan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm replacing a VPS node with a new one, this is what I'm thinking, can you confirm that this will work as planned.

    I have ns1 & 2.domain.com pointing to node 1, ns3 & 4.domain.com pointing to node 2 and want ns3 & 4 .domain.com to point to the new node at the end of the exercise.

    I plan to

    Add new VPS into the current cluster (presently just 2 nodes in the cluster)

    in batches
    use the WHM copy multiple accounts
    re-allocate accounts to IP's as needed

    after final transfer has bedded down reassign the nameservers ns3 & 4 to point to the new VPS's IP's and then remove the old VPS from the cluster.

    Any comments?
     
  2. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not entirely certain the exact question you are asking here
    though I see what you are trying to do I think ...

    You currently have 2 servers setup in a DNS cluster configuration
    and you want to add a 3rd server and also make it part of the
    cluster configuration?

    I am not certain where exactly the "copy accounts" comes into
    play here. Are you wanting to also move the accounts from
    the other two servers into the new 3rd server?

    I guess I am not totally following what you are trying to do from
    your initial post but depending on that, I could probably tell you
    pretty quick the best way to go about doing what you want.
     
  3. monaghan

    monaghan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sorry, the title says move accounts, so didn't repeat it in the text. New node will have the accounts from the 2nd node. basically a gradual move to a new node and then phase out the old node at a later date rather than a big bang shift everything from A to B
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is actually a lot easier and simpler to move all accounts over at once
    and also gives you less issues and downtime but you could do it in stages
    if that is what you prefer which is what it sounds like.

    Basically to move in stages, you would repeat a process of move account,
    update IP in original DNS, and repeat the cycle until all the accounts
    were transferred, and then you would replace the IPs for the DNS itself
    in the cluster with the new account once all accounts had been moved.

    During this time, the new server could be included or separate from the
    DNS cluster (the later is actually easier but will need a bit of manual work)
    but in the end, you will definitely need to include it if you want to return
    to your original configuration but with the new server once all is done.

    The account handling should be simple enough from cpanel for that but
    you'll need to be prepared for a little DNS zone editing on the original servers.

    Also just a side curiosity, I noticed you said "VPS". If you have multiple VPS
    servers, it would generally be more beneficial cost, security, and performance
    wise to go to a dedicated server than separate VPS accounts linked together
    in most cases unless there is some additional factor I am unaware of in your
    particular situation here. Just a side note anyway.
     
    #4 Spiral, Jun 13, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page