The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

clustering web server?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by aboyz, Jun 26, 2006.

  1. aboyz

    aboyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was wondering if cpanel support clustering? I got a hardware load balancer and i want to cluster the apache web server is this dueable? anyone done this before? I know you can cluster DNS, but i want to cluster apache.

    I got 5 servers, and i want to make those 1 cluster web server.
     
  2. aboyz

    aboyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    spread the load

    Anyway to spread the httpd load ? on cpanel.

    Say i got cpanel installed on one server, but i want to split up the apache load, is there a way to setup cpanel so it split up the apache load on a cluster apache server with a hardware load balancer?> Anyone know if this duable?
    My question is is there a way to install just apache on 5 servers which is cluster with the same apache setting and mount NFS across so it can share the same /usr/home directory. Can cpanel direct apache load to those 5 server and split up the load ? anyone know if this is dueable


    I have seen this done with hsphere which you can assign multiple apache server to each machine.
     
  3. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No, cpanel only lets you put lets say 20 accounts on each server and make all them account accesable under one domain, by updating the dns of all servers. This means that every server had the dns for the accounts it holds and the other servers also.


    There is no way to have one large site spread over mulitple cpanel servers without splitting it up into smaller accounts/subdomains.
     
  4. aboyz

    aboyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    humm..

    humm.. So what is the use of doing DNS clustering, same thing, it won't make the load goes down anyway.

    What is the average normal clients you can have on one cpanel server?

    saying running on a

    dual xeon 3.2
    4GIG ram
    scsi raid 5
    dell poweredge 1750

    Anyone know the average clients it can holds on each server?

    Also that mean if one of my cpanel server is full, i will have to purchase another cpanel license to install on another machine>? is that how it work? or can i use the same cpane license to install on another machine?

    Thanks
     
  5. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This depends on what's your hosted domain is running, if you have many domains that are running heavy forum ( example ), this will impose loads to your server. A better tweaking on apache / mysql and the system may help

    nope, 1 Cpanel license can only be use on one server as Cpanel license is based on the primary server IP.
     
Loading...

Share This Page