The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

clustering will not work

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by wiresix, Apr 1, 2005.

  1. wiresix

    wiresix Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just built a new cpanel box and a cpanel dns only cluster box.

    the cpanel box can add the dnsonly as a cluster member fine.

    The dnsonly can not add the cpanel box as a cluster member I get the following
    "This operation requires the remote server to be running WHM 6.0 or later. The server reported version"

    DNS Only:
    WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.0.0-DNS31
    Fedora i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    Cpanel Box:
    WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.1.0-E3
    Fedora i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    I've tried the stable, current, and edge builds on the cpanel box.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. wiresix

    wiresix Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    anyone have any idea?
     
  3. qbert220

    qbert220 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Did you find a fix? I've got the same problem.

    dnsonly: WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.0.0-DNS31 CentOS 4.0 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
    cPanel: WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-R82 CentOS 3.4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  4. qbert220

    qbert220 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've got a fix for this. Open /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Accounting.pm in your favourite editor, goto the whmreq subroutne and replace the line:

    s/\n//g;
    with:

    s/\n|\r//g;

    This at least lets you setup the cluster. It may break other things so caveat emptor!
     
  5. eigh

    eigh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    From what I've been told with my corrispondance with the cpanel folk, this error occurs because there is an extra CRLF at the end of the shared key when you establish the trust.

    If you make sure that there is no line break at the end of the key when you try to establish the trust, it won't give you this error.

    Then you won't need to meddle with the Accounting.PL file as per qbert220's suggestion.

    An additional problem that I had (you might not suffer from this problem, but I did) when I tried to set this up was that i did not have the NET:SSLeay perl module installed. Make sure you have this on all CPANEL servers.
     
  6. camosawus

    camosawus Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sorry to bump an oldish thread but i too am experiencing this same problem. i have tried both methods listed but with no success

    i dont really want to have to hack a file. any other suggestions?
     
  7. dclaw

    dclaw Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    I'm having the same issue. But the s/\n//g; line does not exist in this file. Probably because I am running a different version.

    Does any cPanel tech have an idea here?

    Funny thing is, I was able to add this new server to our 2 old servers fine. But setting it up the other way, it can't talk to either of them, cause it says it's the wrong version.

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
Loading...

Share This Page