The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clustering

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by EdRooney, Dec 22, 2004.

?

Who wants clustering?

  1. I do, I do

    138 vote(s)
    89.0%
  2. No, my customers enjoy inevitable hardware failures and lots of downtime.

    8 vote(s)
    5.2%
  3. What's clustering?

    9 vote(s)
    5.8%
  1. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cpanel & clustering

    Is the clustering option in WHM just for connecting to the dns server or is it to actually cluster cpanel servers hosting websites for redunacy?
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
  3. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any way to cluster servers?

    Can you use file replication with Unison and cpanel?
     
  4. paradoxic

    paradoxic Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I really want to get a cluster going as well. Having a single server for my customers is not ideal for reliability :(
     
  5. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Who wants clustering?

    Who wants clustering?

    Real clustering not that dns only fake clustering.
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just an FYI - clustering does not mean you will never have downtime or hardware issues and in fact actually introduces another area for failure (ever seen a cluster fail? Big headache.)

    Clustering is a waste in this case as most sites/apps/cp's etc.. are not built to take advantage of proper clustering and it is cost prohibitive in most cases. I suggest taking a look at the costs associated with fully clustered/clusterable applications and you will see why it is not a viable option for the average hoster. The cost of cPanel would skyrocket and unless your customers are programming there sites to utilize a clustered environment it won't work.

    As for hardware failures, people should stop using cheap hardware, use proper raid setups and have spare parts for faster recovery. Myself have 1 full spare server ready for swap at all times and the DC I use keeps spare parts at hand at all times.

    Also can you stop creating lopsided polls.
     
  7. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. jnagro

    jnagro Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    powweb can offer clustering because their client files exist on a network attached storage that a large cluster of web servers can access, they round-robin the dns and have seperate boxes for each client accessable service (ftp, email, etc). its very much more complicated, and frankely cpanel as enough to worry about (ie fixing their broken stuff right now) before adding this into the mix
     
  9. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. ntwaddel

    ntwaddel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Templeton, CA
    like jnagro said. they are probably using a san with round robin dns. Its an expensive solution. I doubt they are just using some control panel cluster.
     
  11. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. ntwaddel

    ntwaddel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Templeton, CA
    which is the way it should be done. not with cpanel
     
  13. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The load blancer only balances the connections, the data still must be replicated somehow on 2 or more machines. How can I replicated data across 2 or more cpanel servers?
     
  14. ntwaddel

    ntwaddel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Templeton, CA
    well i am not a cluster expert, but i setup a few a long time ago and they shared scsi connection to replicate data across all the servers.
     
  15. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So you can have a raid array setup across multiple machines?
     
  16. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You can if you are using an external storage drives, like a SUN S1 or StorEdge system.
     
  17. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How can I replicate accounts created in WHM on a second server?

    When I create an account in WHM on 1 server, how can I make sure everything that WHM does on the one server is replicated on the second server? For my high availability load balanced servers.
     
  18. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You've already been told about this in your multitude of other threads about clustering. You can only do this by either:

    1. Sharing your disk resources so that your OS and data disks service both servers (i.e. clustering).

    2. You use one server as a primary and the second as a secondary and rsync your disks from the primary to the secondary to keep them in (relative) sync. Then if the primary becomes unavailable, you redirect traffic to the secondary server (whose data will be as out of date as the time difference between rsyncs, e.g. an hour old). When the primary comes back, you'll have to rsync all the data back over to the primary, etc. What you cannot do is have traffic going to both servers at the same time.

    That's it. You don't have a cluster and so "high availability" is a meaningless term. It should really be termed a "hot swapout", but you have to set up the syncing yourself, since it's not a cluster.
     
  19. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What files do I need to sync to make sure an account creatied in WHM on 1 server is properly synced on another server?
     
  20. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You really need to rsync all your disks, OS and data and then make on the fly modifications for server specifics (e.g. hostname).

    To do it by individual file/directory would be a complete nightmare. You would need many files and directories in /etc/ (you'll have to learn which ones) but off the top of my head:

    /etc/passwd
    /etc/shadow
    /etc/group
    /etc/gshadow
    /etc/valiases/*
    /etc/vfilters/*
    /etc/localdomains
    /etc/remotedomains
    /etc/secondarymx
    /etc/exim/*
    /etc/named.conf
    /etc/proftpd/* (or the pure-ftpd equivalent)
    /etc/quota.conf
    /etc/stats.conf
    /etc/trueuserdomains
    /etc/userdomains
    /etc/vmail/*
    /etc/wwwacct.conf

    /var/named/*
    /var/cpanel/*
    /home/*
    /usr/local/apache/*

    And likely a whole lot more besides. Some of those files you also need to modify after they've been synched over as they're hostname specific.

    So, in summary, unless you understand entirely how cPanel and all its associated apps work, it's pretty much a pointless excercise as you'll be playing "trial and error" ad infinitum.

    Those "high availablilty" servers are really, seriously, only for those that understand Linux extremely well and wouldn't ever consider using third-party control panels ;)

    If you want to make use of them, rsync over the daily cPanel backups from the primary to the secondary every day. Then if the primary goes down, restore all the accounts through WHM on the secondary and switch the routing.
     
Loading...

Share This Page