The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CNAME -MAIL Question ?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by coolone, Jul 2, 2003.

  1. coolone

    coolone Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi everybody,

    I have a question that CNAME thingie
    I have a box and its has 25 mails accounts.
    And 1 free mail service , givin unlimited. I want to use that service under mybox.com .I read MX , looks its possible.

    I tried in MX mail.mybox.com IN CNAME mail.freemail.com
    but didnt work coz mormaly need FQDN .. i saw it after.

    Now i tried mybox.com > freemail.com
    but i think i must set that freemail.com ip like this. ( i read that in this forum but not too much explanation )

    Anyone knows that settings ?

    thank you.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    yoursite.com. 14400 MX 0 mail
    mail 14400 CNAME mail.freemail.com.

    The above should work, remember the (.) at the end of each domain name.

    without (.) it consider it a sub-domain
    ex in the above case mail will be considered as: mail.yoursite.com.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. coolone

    coolone Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i will do this thingies in WHM ?

    i try it in cpanel and nol luck :(

    plz gimme more detail.. i am newbie

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    You will do it in WHM.

    do it from WHM > Edit MX Record
    Choose your domain.
    and write the mail server ex. mail.freemail.com


    You can also do it from Cpanel > Edit MX Record

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. coolone

    coolone Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i dont have edit mx records .. just modify mail exchanger under mail manager ...


    where is that edit MX entry .. lol

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    Mail Exchange == MX

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. coolone

    coolone Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yep i found that but there is only change mx entry link under it.
    no edit function ... :(


    DNS File MX Entry Maintenance


    Current MX Entries mybox.net: mybox.net





    [ Change a MX Entry ] | [ Go Back ]

    thas all

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt


    [ Change a MX Entry ]


    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. coolone

    coolone Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok ...

    i will try this rite .. 2 times , rite ?


    1. mybox.com. 14400 MX 0 mail.freemail.com.
    2 . mail.mybox.com 14400 CNAME mail.freemail.com.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt

    USE the Cpanel or WHM Edit MX Record
    and do not use Edit DNS.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page