The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CNAME Records Not Resolving since server migration

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cafben123, Jun 1, 2014.

  1. cafben123

    cafben123 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recently upgraded to a new server. My hosting company handled the migration for the most part. It has not gone smoothly and I am now trying to solve what I hope is the final issue with it.

    All of my DNS zones were transferred over in the migration and when I click Edit DNS Zone on any of the domains everything looks to be the same as it was on the old server.

    I started having issues receiving mail soon after the change. I did some troubleshooting and found if I changed my incoming and outgoing mail servers from mail.domain.com to just domain.com I could receive mail again. Can't seem to figure out why mail.domain.com no longer works.

    One of our accounts uses Amazon to send mail. Last week we got a warning from Amazon:

    "Amazon SES detected that the CNAME records required for the DKIM setup of domain.com are no longer present in your DNS settings."

    If we do not resolve the issue with the CNAME records "In 5 days, learnlocal.com will no longer be
    considered to be configured for the purpose of DKIM signing."

    I have used WHM/Cpanel for 6+ years without any issues but my understanding of still pretty basic. Please let me know if anyone had experienced this issue or has any idea what may be causing it. I have not found anything similar in the forums or online.

    I appreciate any help!

    Ben
     
  2. acenetgeorge

    acenetgeorge Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southfield, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello Ben,

    There should be three CNAME records needed for signing DKIM for a domain using Amazon SES. My first guess is that they might be missing. I found am article on how to set up the CNAMES here:

    Creating DNS Records for DKIM Signing in Amazon SES - Amazon Simple Email Service

    In the search box, look for edit dns, and edit the zone file for that domain. See if the three CNAME records exist. If they do not, create the, according to that link I posted.

    Hope that helps.

    George Yedinak
    Systems Administrator
    Acenet Inc.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,832
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    In regards to your other issue, with "mail.domain.com" not responding, check to make sure that subdomain resolves to the correct IP address. It seems odd that it would stop working if the name servers were updated at the registrar to the new server's name servers.

    Thank you.
     
  4. cafben123

    cafben123 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you George for the response. All 3 are there. They were on the old server and they show up under the new server when I go to edit the dns. Really strange. Amazon just removed DKIM signing this morning despite the fact that I can see the CNAME records.

    Really strange I think.
     
  5. cafben123

    cafben123 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you. mail.domain.com appears to be working now - 4 days after switching from 1and1 namesevers to the name servers on my server (which uses whm/cpanel). Assuming that this had something to do with DNS propagation.

    I am still having the CNAME issue that Amazon does not recognize that they are there despite the fact that I can see them when I go to edit the zone. We have triple checked and they are all correct. Also - I tried using MXToolBox to see any cname records for the domain and MXToolBox also says no records exist.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,832
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket so we can review the actual domain name in question and determine why the MX records are not propagating. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page