The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cname redirects to /cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dicanio, Feb 14, 2014.

  1. dicanio

    dicanio Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi,

    i have a reseller account fro a hosting compnay and have access to WHM and cpanel.
    i need to make acc.abc.com point to xyz.com. and i used abc.com cpanel Advanced DNS Zone Editor to add a cname record. like this :

    [acc.abc.com. 14400 IN CNAME xyz.com]

    in WHM DNS zone it is like this : [acc 14400 IN CNAME xyz.com.]

    after waiting for dns update (now more than 48 hours) , when i go to address acc.abc.com to see xyz.com i get redirected to acc.abc.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

    the both xyz.com and abc.com hosted on the same reseller account with same ip address.

    any comment ?

    regards.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You entered the CNAME correctly based on the information you provided. I suggest consulting with your web hosting provider so they can manually inspect the DNS Zone and determine why it's not working as intended.

    Thank you.
     
  3. dicanio

    dicanio Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi,

    after contacting hosting support and more that 15 ticket replies it seems there is no way for my hosting provider to point these domain addreses on seperate accounts.

    strange ,what is more strange is the way they never say why cnames are not working !?! they always change the subject or never answer straight about cnames !!!!

    it is the first time i need cname, is there any one have experience about cname records in reseller environment ?

    Best Regards.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. dicanio

    dicanio Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi Michael,

    lets to use domains names i said in post #1.

    i did create no subdomain and no a record, acc should be a cname under domain abc.com for domain xyz.com.

    Regards.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are welcome to have your hosting provider open a support ticket with us so we can take a closer look at the issue. Have them inform you of the ticket number and we can update this thread with the outcome. Or, you may want to request additional information from them as to why it's not working.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page