The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CNames won't change

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Chearful, Jul 18, 2015.

  1. Chearful

    Chearful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,
    I run a fairly large Minecraft server community, and recently upgraded my VPS plan to host my server. This, sadly, required an IP change. I went into the 'Advanced DNS Editor' to edit my 2 different CNAMEs, play.example.org and pvp.example.org. I updated their records just over a week ago, but they won't "change over" meaning that players cannot connect to my server, without the real IP - which I don't want to disclose to them.

    Thanks :)
     
    #1 Chearful, Jul 18, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 18, 2015
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. Chearful

    Chearful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi, Michael, I can confirm that they are pointing to my name server.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is there any reason you are using CNAME records instead of "A" records? Are the entries directed towards an external domain name instead of an IP?

    Thank you.
     
  5. Chearful

    Chearful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'll try 'A' records now. Thanks.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. Chearful

    Chearful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Still no luck :(
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you notice any error messages when entering the domain name into a DNS record utility such as IntoDNS? For instance, do the name servers at the parent servers match the local server?

    Thank you.
     
  9. Chearful

    Chearful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Other than "Your SOA EXPIRE number is: 3600000. That is NOT OK", nope.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also, when using IntoDNS, were you able to confirm the IP addresses associated with the name servers are your VPS IP addresses and not IP addresses added to other servers?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page