The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cold fusion

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dev.null, Sep 9, 2003.

  1. dev.null

    dev.null Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've had cpanel up and running for 2 months on RH. I've been using linux for about 5 years now, very comfortable as admin.

    We have a client that would like to use cold fusion and I need to know what my options are. Is there an apache mod that runs cold fusion without needing a cold fusion server?

    If not, is there a cheap/free cold fusion server that I can run on RH and tie to apache?

    Any insight and/or experience would be great.

    /dev/null

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry to burst your bubble, but the cold fusion server you see at the lovely Macromedia price, comes with an apache module....
    Allaire invented the language, and Macromedia wants to profit from it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. cortices

    cortices Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Actually perlchild that isn't entirely correct...

    NewAtlanta's BlueDragon server claims to emulate most of the ColdFusion language. They have a free version which comes without support for a handful of tags which your client may or may not use.

    Anyways, take a look and maybe it will suit your needs...

    http://www.newatlanta.com/products/bluedragon/index.cfm

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. worldcops

    worldcops Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just like Chili Soft. This product does not appear to run on RH 8 - Install Errors when trying.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. dev.null

    dev.null Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I installed New Atlanta's free server and got it to work just fine.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is it a resource hog? It looks as if it installs its own Java VM.
     
  7. dev.null

    dev.null Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Doesn't appear to be a resource hog. Looks like it's smaller than mailman.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. worldcops

    worldcops Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Did you have to change or configure anything special or shut down any servies before running the install script?

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. dev.null

    dev.null Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No shutdown required. It will restart apache when necessary (IIRC).

    The install is very smooth. Does everything. Once the script is done, it's running and your cfm pages will come right up. I've also found that their support email list is excellent. I've gotten quick help from their staff even though I'm a "freeloader". I guess they think if they give good free support eventually I'd be convinced to pay for the full-blown product. And if I needed it, I would.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do you have Tomcat running at the same time? In one of their documents it says something like you need to unload Tomcat first before installing the bluedragon.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. worldcops

    worldcops Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No TOMCAT installed.. I'll try again. I'm downloading it from there server to mine again now. I'll try it again. Maybe it was just a bad DL

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. worldcops

    worldcops Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here is the error I get. Maybe I am missing something:

    Preparing to install...
    Extracting the JRE from the installer archive...
    Unpacking the JRE...
    Extracting the installation resources from the installer archive...
    Configuring the installer for this system's environment...

    Launching installer...

    Invocation of this Java Application has caused an InvocationTargetException. This application will now exit. (LAX)

    Stack Trace:
    java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError
    at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:115)
    at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.getLocalGraphicsEnvironment(GraphicsEnvironment.java:53)
    at java.awt.Window.<init>(Window.java:183)
    at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:310)
    at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:257)
    at com.zerog.ia.installer.Main.b(Unknown Source)
    at com.zerog.ia.installer.Main.main(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Native Method)
    at com.zerog.lax.LAX.launch(Unknown Source)
    at com.zerog.lax.LAX.main(Unknown Source)
    GUI-

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have that problem too, seems it won't install if you're not running x-windows(it's a graphical installer) that the java jvm can access. Haven't completely figured it out yet myself, and gave up.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. maxstudios

    maxstudios Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    on the blue dragon install you need to use the -i flag at the end, and you also need to install jdk from sun.com this is also installed with -i flag.

    hope this helps

    oh yeah you can only access bd server from 127.0.0.1 for the first time so make sure that you have a shell browser installed
     

Share This Page